We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nautholl

Nautholl
Nautholsvegur 106, Reykjavik, Iceland
+354 599 6660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 289 restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $14 - $41
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Diner, Scandinavian, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Nauthóll features modern Icelandic cuisine with an emphasis on fresh local ingredients, in-house production and casual atmosphere. Nauthóll is led by master chef, Eyþór Rúnarsson, an Icelandic national culinary team member, a part of a new generation of Icelandic chefs, committed to sustainable cuisine.Nauthóll is situated in the outskirts of Öskjuhlíð, Reykjavik’s downtown nature paradise, overlooking Reykjavik thermal beach and only a 5-minute drive from downtown Reykjavik.
Antibes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice Restaurant with a beautiful view...we ate langoustine, lamb, and local fish...it was perfect !!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    50
    16
    11
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So glad I ate here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This restaurant is a fair way out of the centre of town. It was about a 20min walk from the main church, but boy was it worth it! It's a very simple restaurant with minimalist decor and polite staff. I chose the braised lamb shank with mash and roasted veg and it was the best food I'd had in a long time. Never had lamb so tender. Considering prices elsewhere, this was a good value meal because the quality of food and service was very very good. Like past reviewers have mentioned, it seemed that on a Saturday night we were the only non-Icelandic people eating there. Got to be a good sign right? Make the effort to head a bit out of town. You won't regret it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The food is better than what I experienced downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I decided to try this place out to get away from all of the tourists and enjoy great Icelandic food. This place did not disappoint as we were the only tourists there and the food was great. We both decided to have the fish of the day and it was delicious and filling. There is a small geothermal beach nearby and running paths leading up to the Pearl, so I am not sure if it may get more tourists in the summer.

To get there you go to the end of bus route 19, and then walk around the university building. The restaurant is equidistant from the university building on the opposite side.

The prices are equivalent to prices in the city, but the atmosphere, food, and view are better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Location appeared to be a little out of the way so we travelled by taxi to get there.

Came here on Monday night and were very impressed with the deco and ambience of this restaurant.

The shredded lamb shank on mash with roasted veg was out of this world as was the Icelandic Cod.

Not the cheapest of restaurants, however the portion sizes and quality could not have been better.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had dinner there on the day we travelled the Golden Circle. It sounded as if we were the only non Icelander eating there at that time. Service was good, the menu offered a good selection of meat and fish dishes. We had the Nauthöll burger and were very happy with it.
We also enjoyed looking at the weather over the Fjord through the big windows. If I'd lived in Reykjavik, I'd go back to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nautholl also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nautholl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautholl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.