We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent position” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Reykjavik Backpackers to your Saves list
Reykjavik Backpackers
Laugarvegur 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Lodi, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“excellent position”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's easy to find and in an excellent position. Rough but clean rooms, not-so-clean bathrooms. Above all, it's a hostel in the centre of Reykjavík with young customers, often busy and crowded. I suggest you to take earpads with you, and get ready to find parties inside and outside the hostel, especially in the weekend. Good for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    45
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
2
15
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great, affordable, clean and fun place to stay in Reykjavik. The location can't be beat, being 2 blocks from the super market, a few blocks from the main attractions, a few blocks from 'downtown' and city hall and even walking distance to the main bus terminal. When you go, make sure to as about the public pools, it's an 'Icelandic' thing to do that I feel is a must! My rating is 5/5 based on previous hostel experiences in Europe

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this last minute after a long day including a cancelled flight and it was exactly what I needed.. The Fly Bus Shuttle dropped me off just a block away on a busy Friday night. Check in was quick, no elevator, and charged additional for a duvet but you can bring your own. I was in a co-ed dorm with 4 bunk beds. The room was clean and beds were comfortable. The bathrooms left a bit to be desired, one didn't have a lock on the door, and no place to store your belongings or clothes as you showered.

It is located right in the heart of Reykjavik, lots of nightlife, clubs, restaurants, etc with in walking distance, and only a 10 min walk to get the famous hot dogs! If you are a light sleeper I recommend asking for ear plugs at the front desk, or booking on a quieter street. The bass from a club was bumping until 4:00 am.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in co-ed dorms. It is right in the heart of Laugavegur district, many cafes, restaurants, shopping and bars nearby. Staff is hipster-y but friendly and helpful. The dorm rooms were nice and comfortable. Luggage storage available (can also leave luggage for a couple days after your stay if you will be hiking/touring/etc and don't want to take everything with you). Rooms have good sound insulation (there is a bar/club right below it - we stayed on a Saturday night, music was bumping but could not hear it, or street noise, in the bedroom).

Things took a turn for the worse when using the shared showers. We booked this hostel after a 5 day hiking trip, so we were ready to get clean. The showers were awful. No water pressure...and no hot water (odd in a geothermally powered city??). They were filthy...dust, hair everywhere. If you stay here, go to the city pool (Sundlaugar!), it is only a few blocks away and for 500 ISK you can soak in hot pools AND take a decent shower!

Also, no laundry facilities available. I wouldn't want to do the backpackers laundry load in the sink here because of the aforementioned...I did not use the kitchen, so can't speak to it's condition.

Room Tip: Shower at the city pool down the street instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Reykjavik Backpackers has a great location just on the main street of Reykjavik, Laugavegur. I stayed in a 8-person dorm for a bit over a week. The room was a basic dorm with nothing extra in it, but it was nice and clean. The showers and toilets were clean and you didn't have to queue to them a lot.

The other people staying at the dorm were mainly small groups of friends or people travelling alone as I was. At any point of my stay I didn't have any problem leaving my staff in the dorm room, I wasn't afraid of anyone trying to take anything. The staff of the hostel was extremely helpful and friendly and they gave help and advice on any thing you just asked, whether it was about active tours or finding a place to have good mutton. The hostel has a nice bar downstairs (that has happy hour every day!) and there are a lot of tourists from other accommodation and locals hanging out there.

The bad side of the hostel is the voices of the city. Even though Reykjavik isn't that big, there's a lot of life and voices of life there, especially during the weekend. This still isn't a big minus for this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Located right on one of the main streets in Reykjavik, Backpackers provided me with a more then adequate hostel room. The facilities were all top notch, including; clean beds/sheets, clean bathrooms, hot water, etc. The faculty working the desk were incredibly helpful with directions and providing affordable and fun experiences. They also helped with setting up transportation to and from Keflavik airport and Blue Lagoon. If (when) I go back, i'll most certainly stay there again. THUMBS UP!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had two stays totaling five nights in Backpackers, both covering weekend nights. I stayed in 4-person rooms which were generally full. The crowd seemed to include a few party types and mostly people who were there for more active touring (& thus had to be ready to leave by 8 AM for tour departures), though perhaps the party types stay in the larger rooms. I saw at least one older (40+) person staying there every day and met more post-university people than university students.

Pros:
- Friendly, helpful front desk staff. They were always helping people arrange tours and helped me change my airport return time.
- Central location; close to shopping, restaurants, and attractions.
- Luggage storage if you arrive before the 2 PM check in time.
- Nice, sturdy bunks. The bunk did not seem to sag even when a rather ample woman climbed on the top, much to the relief of the person who had already been staying in the bottom bunk.

Neutral:
- A bit noisy, though I never had any problems sleeping when I used earplugs (provided in a jar by the front desk). It was much less noisy in the room I had at the back of the hostel.
- The free wifi was only available in the lobby and on the 2nd floor.
- The kitchen was rather cramped, but, hey, there is a kitchen!

Cons:
- The bathrooms! The showers were filled with dust/hair and the ceilings were covered in mold. Most of the drains were at least a bit backed up (probably with dust and hair). I didn't want to touch anything. I have been in cleaner showers at campgrounds.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the building are much quieter. The third floor probably provides the best balan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Backpackers

Address: Laugarvegur 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located on Laugavegur, the main shopping street. We are affiliated with Iceland's longest running adventure company, Arctic Adventures, and our guests can choose from great offers on their tours. Our staff can provide expert information on what to do, see and experience during your stay and will gladly arrange some activities for our guests. With our unbeatable location and prices in a lively hostel we make it our priority to make your stay as pleasant as possible! See you in Iceland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Reykjavik Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.