We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Helpful Staff, Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Backpackers to your Saves list
Reykjavik Backpackers
Laugarvegur 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, Helpful Staff, Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at Backpackers for six nights and my friend and I couldn't have been happier with our choice. Great value for the very convenient location in the center of the city.

The Rooms
We had a room with two double beds, but there are rooms available with four and six beds as well (for those that are looking for lower cost per night). Beds were comfortable, common areas were clean. For the amount of time spent in our room (basically to only crash after a long day excursion and then some night time drinks), the accommodations were just fine. If you keep your expectations in check - you're at a hostel, not a hotel - this place does not disappoint.

Staff
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They recommended different types of activities, places to eat, things to see, renting a car, etc. And, they book the excursions for you! Just let them know what you're interested in doing for the day and they'll pick up the phone and book it for you. They'll also let you know how/where to get where you need to go (sometimes the tours pick you up from the hotel and others require you to take a bus to meet the group).

Location
Located on the main drag of the city. Shopping, cafes, restaurants, bus stops, bars are steps away.

General Tips
- If you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. There is a busy and fun bar downstairs and the hostel is located on a busy city street.

- Going out to dinner in Iceland is expensive, so when you check in to the hostel the staff let you know where the nearest grocery stores are. There is a kitchen on the fourth floor that was well kept.

- Go to the happy hour at this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
2
17
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

In not one to write a negative review as I feel trip advisor is usually used as a mechanic for travellers to vent their frustrations and qualms.

However after 5 months of backpacking through 3rd world countries I thought we had experienced it all. Until Iceland.

Out flight didn't arrive till 11pm which meant a late checkin was required. The hostel offers and boasts a 24 reception. Upon arrival the staff member was cold, unwelcoming and blunt.

We put this down to the time of arrival. However the following day we enquired about doing a tour through the hostel. The staff on reception was more than unhelpful and proceeded to treat us like we were idiots.

In summary, for the same
price of a nice hotel room in NYC this establishment is well below par and has left a bitter taste in my mouth of Iceland and what is to be represented of their people.

Appauling staff aside the rooms in the back house were clean and warm.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Quite a cool place which has its own bar. Good location in the citycentre between all shops, bars, cafes etc. It was a pretty loud place because of all the cafe's next to it. But if you're up for that, its a great spot.

We had a troubles with the locks on the doors and the bathroom was quite unhandy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
829 helpful votes 829 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Didnt stay at the hostel but did use the 'bunk bar' during the 4 hours of happy hour, everything is two for one, coffee, beer and other alcoholic drinks. The bar could really capitalise on this trade but dont, which is a shame, they had an outside seating area at the back which was not used. The bar is very small and many of the occupants were possibly hostel guests who had 'taken over' the bar with a mass of electrical equipment, playstations, laptops,ipads galore which take up a lot of room in an already cramped space. Maybe the management need to look at using the bar - as a bar - not as a 'lounge extension'. Perfectly located right in the heart of the pedestrianized zone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Me and my brother stayed here last week for one night whilst following our football team who had a game in Reykjavick. It was our second stay in Iceland and we spotted this place last time and where impressed with how it looked and its location.

We arrived early in the morning (10am) and the helpful staff checked us in (taking remainder of payment) but informed us that we could not get in to the room until 2pm. This was expected however we where able to leave our bags in a secure room and use the facilities for a shower and to charge phones which was essential as we where meeting friends in town that afternoon.

We booked a private room at a very competitive rate and we where at the back of the hostel. There where 3 buildings which looked like houses and upon return to the hostel we didn't even have to go through recpetion to get to our room.

Perhaps because we where at the back we didn't have any problem at all with noise. The room itself was very clean and basic but that is all we needed. The showering facilities where shared but very very clean.

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, friendly staff and very friendly residents too with a nice atmosphere. It was also the cheapest hostel I could find and as stated earlier in my review the location is absolutely superb.

I would stay here again if I am in Reykjavick again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It was our one night in Reykjavik between 2 parts of our Iceland round trip. We wanted to rest but we couldn't. I can understand the disco party on the ground floor (it was Saturday) but nobody respected curfew. It ws noisy all night long in the whole building and in the bier garden behind. Bathrooms were alwys clean but not the room. There was dirt under beds and bed sheets looked lik someone used them before. The staff was extremely helpful however very busy, I always waited to be serviced. The kichen was too small, could accommodate 4-5 people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very clean and well kept, friendly staff. There's a kitchen and a fridge for 4th room guests only, but we were told by the staff that you can still use them if they are not packed, which we did!
A bit of a complain for the bed, they were very, very noisy. They criecked everytime someone breathed! Apart from that, showers were nice, bathrooms big and well equipped. Very jelpful people at the reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Backpackers

Address: Laugarvegur 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located on Laugavegur, the main shopping street. We are affiliated with Iceland's longest running adventure company, Arctic Adventures, and our guests can choose from great offers on their tours. Our staff can provide expert information on what to do, see and experience during your stay and will gladly arrange some activities for our guests. With our unbeatable location and prices in a lively hostel we make it our priority to make your stay as pleasant as possible! See you in Iceland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Reykjavik Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.