We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Backpackers to your Saves list
Reykjavik Backpackers
Laugarvegur 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent location and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went down with a friend of mine, stayed in an 8 person room and had a blast.
The location is fantastic, right in the core of the city. We walked everywhere.
The staff was super friendly and very helpful/knowledgeable with respect to booking excursions.
The other guests were super fun and easy-going .. always people in the common areas to meet and hang out with. Evening were always great fun, people you meet throughout the day reunite near the entrance and go out together.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
2
17
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hostel! Location is right in the middle of everything&staff was very knowledgeable. RBs is great because after a long day of touring around the country or the city, if you don't feel like braving the cold at night to find a popular bar mid-week, the bar at the hostel is great for having a few drinks, meeting people, etc. We happened to be there during a big football match and the Barcelona club's Iceland fan club was there to watch, causing a bit of chaos, but also an awesome atmosphere! The hostel was also very helpful in booking our trips outside of the city, recommended the tour company with the best value for our money and advised us on what the best places to see would be.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I had a great experience in Iceland because it's one of those places that is hard not to enjoy. Reykjavik Backpackers is another story. The people working there were polite helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean, which is expected any lodging accommodation, but I had an issue with the organisation of their staff especially the new staff. I encountered problems right from the start when it came to booking tours and the specifications of my room. I'm not going to go into all kinds of detail because I realize sometimes mistakes happen. In this situation the countless number of mistakes regarding tour bookings and scheduling times can all be avoided with the proper training of staff. These errors cost me part of my holiday, almost the entire trip. My advise to anyone booking at Reykjavik Backpackers is to book any tours with the Tourist information centre which is a 5 min walk down the road. They have all the information you need and can recommend tours and day trips accurately. I wish I had done this on my visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back section as the road view can be noisy at night if your not looking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reykjavik hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Right in the centre of Reykjavik, so easy walking distance to everything. Bar is on the ground floor so doesn't disturb people in the bedrooms. Nice that each floor has a sitting room where people can chat without having to stay in the dorms. The hostel can also book all tours with various operators.

I was told the kitchen was only for the use of people on the 4th floor, so I booked a bed in one of the smaller rooms there - however, in reality, people from all rooms used the kitchen which meant the tiny room was cramped and the fridge packed too full to fit anything in. But that was the only downside, it's a good hostel overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I really liked the hostel in the beginning. There is a nice hangout and the location is perfect. There is also much information at the desk but the staff doesnt look very motivated and helpfull. The rooms are unfortunately terrible with a lack of space. It is quiete cheap but there are much more better alternatives in Reykjavik to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kosice, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

... but that's all. Unfortunatelly. I was really crazy about those creak beds ! Like in army. The next bad thing is the only and very small window for room air venting. It was terrible to sleep there. There is only one small kitchen for all stuff. The service in bar and recepcion is very unpredictable. Once you get all right & quick & friendly, then on the other hand, you just wait (and wait) and get contradictory information.

But, all in all I would recommend this hostel right in the center of Reykjavik in case you are looking for relatively cheap place to sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Creaky beds, no plug sockets, cramped rooms, money grabbing for things like lockers and bedsheets despite it being expensive already and ridiclously long waits at reception.

The worst thing though was that the room didn't have any curtains/blinds at all. This meant the room was light all night due to the nordic summer. I was fobbed off at reception with 'the blinds broke, we're fixing it tonight'. When I left 5 days later there were still no curtains. The other stuff I can deal with as long as I get some sleep, but I got back home feeling absolutely exhausted from not sleeping at all. I don't know how staff could ignore such a basic but important thing.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Backpackers

Address: Laugarvegur 28, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located on Laugavegur, the main shopping street. We are affiliated with Iceland's longest running adventure company, Arctic Adventures, and our guests can choose from great offers on their tours. Our staff can provide expert information on what to do, see and experience during your stay and will gladly arrange some activities for our guests. With our unbeatable location and prices in a lively hostel we make it our priority to make your stay as pleasant as possible! See you in Iceland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Reykjavik Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.