We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dinner Tour alone is worth a trip to Iceland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Season Tours - Small Groups and Private Tours

Season Tours - Small Groups and Private Tours
Vaettaborgum 112, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
3548634592
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 258 Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whether you are interested in one or multiple days in hiking, driving, strolling, sailing or flying above Iceland, Season Tours can fulfill your dreams and cater to all your wishes. Specialized, knowledgeable guides provide the rest as they educate, inform, entertain and inspire you on your travels. Guides open up the country ​​​​​Season Tours is a company that specializes in small groups and personalized services. The staff is dedicated to rendering quality service. The guides were educated at the University of Iceland and will not only show you around the beautiful and inspiring nature of Iceland but also tell you all about the Vikings, the Icelandic Sagas, the history of Iceland, the geology, culture, cuisine, flora and fauna. The interesting and well documented 1100 years of human habitation of this volcanic island in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean will come alive at the places where the most significant events took place.
Arecibo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Dinner Tour alone is worth a trip to Iceland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I went on this dinner tour with my wife, son (1.75 years old) and mother. Words cannot express our Dinner Tour experience with chef Tyffi.. It was THE best part of our trip. He was an incredible tour guide and chef, but more importantly than that an excellent host and human being. He is funny and immensely knowledgeable. Most companies we took tours just drive you to the places tell you to be back in 30 minutes in the bus and move on. Season Tours is completely different, Tyffi got out the bus with us in every single stop and even returned to the same spot and gave my wife the tour(for the second time) because she got held back with the baby. He was very accommodating with our needs because of our baby throughout the entire tour.

After numerous stops, beautiful landscapes, shops and interesting sites we went to his gorgeous home. Tyffi opened the door took our coats and made us feel right at home. Here is where he transformed from a outstanding tour guide to an exceptional host, he is a true gentleman.

He had appetizers and drinks waiting for us when we got there. He explained as he cooked the dishes and joked a lot (he is very funny!) His wife got home before we started to eat only to add to the experience. She was equally incredible and considerate (She even took the baby for a while so we could finish eating!).

The food was THE BEST we had in our entire trip (and we went to a LOT of good restaurants). The food alone is worth the price of the entire tour, it is that good!

If we had known better we would have booked all of our tours with SeasonTours. Booking with them make our day from being good to being THE greatest travel experience in our life.

Learn from our experience and book all your tour with SeasonTours. You will remember them for the rest of your life. I don't consider them our tour guides, I consider them my friends.

To Gunnsi and Tyffi, You have created a unique and personal experience that has a huge impact on people's lives. You are unrivaled by other companies, please don't ever change!

Un abrazo!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Day To Remember!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our family of four booked the Reykjanes Peninsula Tour, and also included an hour and a half in the Blue Lagoon. This tour was AMAZING.

Words cannot describe how Gunnsi, our incredibly charming tour guide made us feel. We could tell he was passionate about Iceland and its stories, and was also incredibly patient with our two year old. They were friends by the end of the tour!

This tour was one of our last in Iceland after almost 9 days, and we regretted so much not booking ALL of our tours with Season Tours. We chose different companies, to avoid getting stuck with a bad one, and honestly, the two tours we went on with Season Tours were EXCEPTIONAL.

It was such a personalized service, and tailored to our needs, we wanted more. At the end of our journey in Iceland we felt like we had made new friends there.

I cannot stress enough how DIFFERENT this company is from all other companies we toured with. Both Tyffi and Gunnsi are spectacular human beings, and they took the time to teach us about their culture, and provided us with unforgettable memories.

We are definitely going back to Iceland, and hope EVERYONE experiences their trip with Season Tours, so they will have the best travel experience they can have.

To Gunnsi and Tyffi, keep rocking those yours. You're both now two of my favorite people in the world (and María too!). Besos y abrazos desde Puerto Rico.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours - Small Groups and Private Tours, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your most kind words. With such a great company as you and your family is, nobody can go wrong in being your tour guide. Hope to see you again some day in Iceland.
Kind regards,
Gunnsi Guide and Manager at Season Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great northern lights photography tour with Gunnsi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My husband and I went to Iceland in September 2013 with the hope of seeing the northern lights. We booked a tour with Season Tours because we wanted to go on a small group tour rather than one of the big buses, and also because we wanted the chance to learn how to use our new camera for night photography.
The booking process for the tour was easy and Gunnsi communicated with us each day to let us know whether the tour would go ahead based on the weather forecast. I'd definitely recommend to book this tour for the first possible day on your trip and to keep your evening plans open, having a relatively early dinner so there is time to head out on the tour after that. In our case the weather conditions and aurora forecast were favourable on the third day.
Gunnsi picked us up on time and took us to a location towards the Keflavik airport. As soon as we stepped out of the car the northern lights appeared and we had time to photograph them. Gunnsi let us borrow his tripod (as we'd lost the camera fixing on ours), which was very kind of him. He also took some photos of us on his camera with the northern lights behind us and gave us access to them on Google plus.
When the lights weren't showing (we were lucky enough to see them appear twice, in slightly different locations on our tour) Gunnsi gave us other tips on night photography, including how to photograph the moon. He also showed us how to tell which direction is north by using the stars. On the way back into town Gunnsi showed us some of the Reykjavik landmarks.
All in all the process of dealing with Season Tours was straight forward and we found Gunnsi to be a very personable and knowledgeable tour guide. The only regret we have is that we didn't have time to go on another tour with them - Gunnsi mentioned a mountain walk that they sometimes do near Keflavik that sounded a bit different from the standard tours and would have been great to do. I also think this company would be good for taking a group of people further afield over a few days - Gunnsi is a really great guy and would be good company.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours - Small Groups and Private Tours, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for a great review.
Looking forward to see you again in Iceland some other day.
Keep on taking photos! Practice make perfect. :-)
Kind regards
Gunnsi Guide and Manager at Season Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria, b.c.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perect Introduction to Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I visited Iceland for the first time recently in search of the farms where my ancestors had lived and booked a personal day tour with Gunnsi for that purpose and also added the Golden Circle Tour for that day. He was extremely knowledgeable, providing commentary on the landscape, local history and well-prepared for the tour with the information I had provided in advance. In fact, he found the gravestone of two of my great-grandparents - without his help we never would have discovered it. This was the highlight of the trip. Gunnsi was very friendly, courteous and considerate, stopping at just the right times for coffee/snack and lunch, and was very enthusiastic about my search for ancestors. As an added bonus, he took pictures throughout our day tour which we were provided with afterwards. All in all, a very memorable, busy day!

We booked a second tour with Tyffi the following day of the Snaefellsness Peninsula and thoroughly enjoyed this as well. He told us many stories along the way relating the landscape and these were fascinating. This was a very active day, which we loved, including climbing up a river to a crevasse, climbing up a volcanic crater, climbing down to the ocean and through a marshy area to a thermal pool. A visit to a shark museum was very interesting, including tasting buried shark meat. Tyffi was also very friendly, knowledgeable and considerate, planning the day perfectly. Another fantastic day in Iceland. We will get back to Iceland to see more! We'd highly recommend Season Tours - amazing guides!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnsi, Manager at Season Tours - Small Groups and Private Tours, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review. It sure was my pleasure to drive you to the towns of your ancestors and tell you about how Iceland was back when they lived here and probable reasons for people migrating from Iceland.
Thank you also for choosing Season Tours for your quest.
Kind regards,
Gunnsi Guide and Manager at Season Tours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Afternoon with Chef Tyffi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Add to your memorable experiences in Iceland by spending an afternoon with Chef Tyffi (tyffi@seasontours.is). This accomplished chef and certified tour guide offers a tour of the city of Reykjavik, stopping at gourmet food shops where he purchases assorted Icelandic foods. He then takes guests to his lovely home where he prepares a 5-course meal, paired with wines, while explaining each item along with a history of Iceland. Chef Tyffi follows up by sending all guests copies of the recipes he used. My husband, adult son and I felt very lucky to have found this unique tour offering. We enjoyed many activities and tours in Iceland and consider this to be among the most outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Season Tours - Small Groups and Private Tours also viewed

 

Been to Season Tours - Small Groups and Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Season Tours - Small Groups and Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.