We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Penthouse Apartment in Central Reykjavik

The building seen from the street.
The building seen from the street.
The building seen from the street.
Entrance
Entrance
Hallway
Bathroom with shower and bathtub
Reykjavik
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ktadaemon
Helsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing apartment all round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Situated right in the heart of Reykjavik, this apartment is furnished to a very high standard throughout, and is an amazing place to stay. There are views of both the cathedral and the sea.
The facilities are second to none, including the amazing 8ft long bath, which fills with natural geothermal water. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in on holidays. The balcony overlooks the main shopping street through Reykjavik, but this never gets obtrusively noisy! You are also high enough to ensure privacy.
Jon, the owner, was very helpful and ensured we had everything we needed, including a good selection of tourist guides and maps.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The huge bath!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RachelMil...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury apartment, incredible views, perfect location! 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Penthouse Apartment for our honeymoon and found that it suited us perfectly.
The apartment is spacious, modern, comfortable, very clean, and has absolutely everything you could possibly want. Its really handy to have a washer dryer - my advice to future travellers is to not bother weighing your suitcase down with a weeks worth of pants and socks, pack a few more jumpers! Jon, the owner, was very helpful and even left us with a mobile to keep in touch if we had any questions, to make local call s, and to receive calls from abroad.
The view from both sides of the apartment is incredible, and we were lucky enough to catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights from the comfort of our own place.
The location is perfect too - incredibly central, about a 5/10 min walk from most attractions in Reykjavik. Located on the main pedestrian street, it was so easy to pop out to get groceries/breakfast and do a bit of window shopping when walking to and from the apartment.
The street is lively enough that you are very short walk from finding a nice place to eat/drink, but not too lively that you are kept awake all night.
Will be staying there again if we are lucky enough to go back to Iceland. :)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jdavies
Canada
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
London
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Steinly
PA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Washington DC
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
4 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
mike t
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't imagine a better place to stay in Reykjavic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This nice apartment on the 4th floor overlooking the main shopping street in Reykjavic was a delight. The kitchen/living area is spacious & well appointed. The bedroom is upstairs ( slightly difficult stairway) & also spacious. There is a second bed in the bedroom, but we used it for our cases
Access is up a lift & around the back of the apartments on the 4th floor, & from the balcony you get a great view over the bay
If we ever return this will be our first enquiry

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$168
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Jon T
3547700077
Speaks English, Spanish, Swedish
Listed since : Apr 2010
Response Rate: 65 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing