We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Svinafellsjokull Glacier tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours

Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours
Bankastraeti 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 587 9999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 258 Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Icelandic Mountain Guides is proud to be an award winning as well as a leading company for staff training in Icelandic tourism. We have 20 years of experience in educating, entertaining and assuring the safety of our guests. This applies to the Greenland Icecap, the summit of Antarctica and everywhere in between. The pinnacle of our educational program is the 27 days of direct training and exams our glacier guides go through from the time they are hired until they achieve the requirements for an IMG Mountain Guide. The award winning training program is based on safety and training standards from New Zealand. In addition to training courses, our guides work over 100 days under direct and indirect supervision and are required to advance to a certain standard in their personal mountaineering. Most of our guides will have completed an eight day Wilderness First Responder first aid course and have received advanced training from working with the elite units of Icelandic rescue teams.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Svinafellsjokull Glacier tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My mom and I did a two hour walking tour of Svinafellsjokull Glacier. It was one of the highlights of our trip to Iceland. The two guides were very knowledgeable and extremely personable. We learned a lot about glaciers, Iceland, and the local area. We also had plenty of time for photos. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    54
    7
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Really friendly company who go the extra bit to make you feel at home and make sure you enjoy your day trip.

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hvannadalshnúkur - Iceland´s Highest Summit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I did Icelandic Mountain Guides "Hvannadalshnúkur - Iceland´s Highest Summit" guided day tour. It was an excellent experience and the guides were very friendly, knowledgeable, and made it a very safe and enjoyable experience. Great value for a guided trip like this. They provided very good information on where to stay nearby and what to expect on the trip. The equipment they provided was very good, and in great condition. They really worked hard to make sure we got to the summit, and safely. Only critic, I would have liked the meeting the night before to have started a little earlier if possible. The trip meeting started at 20:00, and we meet up to start the hike at 4:00. Would have been nice to have more time after meeting to get more sleep or any last minute preparations. Overall an amazing trip and great guides. Would love to go on another Icelandic Mountain Guides trip in the future. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“surprisingly easy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We did the shortest tour (Blue Ice Experience) and had a great time. It was educational, loads of fun, and certainly a bit surreal. We were a little nervous having never done anything like this, but it was super-easy. Our guide was fantastic. Definitely a worthwhile Iceland experience.

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Glacier walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a very fun time doing the glacier walk. I would definitely recommend this experience for everyone. The guide was also great and super helpful. Be sure to check out the relatively close by Iceberg Lagoon.

Visited May 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandic Mountain Guides Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.