We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1912 Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added 1912 Guest House to your Saves list
1912 Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Skolabru 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Myself and a friend stayed at the 1912 guesthouse over the christmas period and were very happy with our choice of accomidation.
The 1912 is homely and welcoming. Our room was spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The guesthouse was always being cleaned to a high standard.
We were also happy to find that there was a kitchen with plenty of fridge space so we were able to prepare meals rather than eat out for every meal.
1912 is conviently situated right in the heart of reykjavik so we could walk within seconds to restaurants, bars etc.
There is also a phone which made it very easy to book excursions and airport buses etc.
The owner Richard is a very nice man who clearly takes alot of pride in maintaining high standards in his guest house and if your lucky, he may even take you to his local for some screwdrivers!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
28
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Friendly and pleasant place to be, right in the center of Reykjavík.
The prices are ok, the rooms are very clean and spacious. Richard can arrange special prices at restaurants and bars in the city. What else do you want more?
Staying there for the third time and surely will come back..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We only saw Richard once when we checked in (and called the number provided to ask him what room we were in and how to get in to it.) We very much appreciated that he allowed us to check in early as we arrived at 9:00 am after our all night flight. It was heaven to sink in to a comfortabe bed. The guesthouse is clean, and as stated, the location is bar none! It is near bakeries for an inexpensive breakfast and, as a guesthouse, I would recommend it. Yes, it is a bit inconvenient to remove shoes upon arrival, but it did add to the cleanliness which is good. There is only one bathroom on each floor but, as we stayed in early October, it was no problem. If you are looking at saving money with a guesthouse vs. a hotel, this is one of the best "bangs for the buck" that you could get with its fantastic location in the old City Centre.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A very guest house, this place was just perfect for me 1 day staying in Reykjavik. Very clean and the owner seemed to be very helpfull. If booking on line, check your email before get there. The location is a plus and price not too bad if compared to the hotels nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My first trip to Iceland and Reykjavik. Booked directly with the owner via the internet a few months ago. Very responsive. Arrived in town at 12:30am used key code to get in and got settled in my room, then went right out to experience Sat nights in town and everything you've read it true. So fun!! It will be loud on Fri and Sat night, but then again, pretty much anywhere you stay downtown is going to be loud on those nights. The guesthouse was very clean, with a large kitchen and plenty of refrigerator space so you can make your own meals rather than pay to eat out. Great place and I will stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location of the house is superb very near downtown. Walking distance to everything.

Richard was extremely helpful with everything I asked via email and he was even there to meet as he was doing some cleaning of the house when i arrived.

My single room was large for a Euro Hotel although the lighting was pretty dim. The bed and linens were very comfortable and even though there was some noise from the main street, it dis not interfere with a good night's sleep.

I did find the need to remove my shoes upon entry a bit quirky but seeing the condition of the house, it was not a big deal. I actually used the slipper socks from the plane trip over. ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was my second stay at Richard's guesthouse. As before, the entire guesthouse is spotlessly clean, and Richard is as friendly and helpful as ever.

My room was spacious. The WiFi coverage was excellent, which is increasingly important to the frequent traveler.

The location could not be more central than the 1912 Guest House.

Next time I'm in Reykjavik, and there will most definitely be a "next time", I'm certain to stay at the 1912 Guest House again.

I am constantly recommending Iceland to my friends, and for those who are going to be traveling to Reykjavik, the 1912 Guest House will be my suggestion to them for a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1912 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1912 Guest House

Address: Skolabru 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 1912 Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 Guest House - Statutory Cited, Listed as: building of Special Architectural and Historic Interest. 1912 Guest House is perfectly located in the center of Reykjavik, next to the parliament of Iceland (Alþingi), 60 second walk to the city's main restaurants, cafes, clubs, art museums, galleries and shops. We offer luxury accommodation, clean, comfortable and recently refurbished. 9 twin rooms, 3 singles and 4 bathrooms. Breakfast upon request, delivered straight to the room. Whether you're staying one night, several days or just want to spend a romantic weekend in the heart of Reykjavik, the owners and staff will do everything to help make your stay truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your 1912 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1912 Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.