We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1912 Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 1912 Guest House to your Saves list
1912 Guest House
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Skolabru 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location and clean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A very guest house, this place was just perfect for me 1 day staying in Reykjavik. Very clean and the owner seemed to be very helpfull. If booking on line, check your email before get there. The location is a plus and price not too bad if compared to the hotels nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    29
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
28
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My first trip to Iceland and Reykjavik. Booked directly with the owner via the internet a few months ago. Very responsive. Arrived in town at 12:30am used key code to get in and got settled in my room, then went right out to experience Sat nights in town and everything you've read it true. So fun!! It will be loud on Fri and Sat night, but then again, pretty much anywhere you stay downtown is going to be loud on those nights. The guesthouse was very clean, with a large kitchen and plenty of refrigerator space so you can make your own meals rather than pay to eat out. Great place and I will stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The location of the house is superb very near downtown. Walking distance to everything.

Richard was extremely helpful with everything I asked via email and he was even there to meet as he was doing some cleaning of the house when i arrived.

My single room was large for a Euro Hotel although the lighting was pretty dim. The bed and linens were very comfortable and even though there was some noise from the main street, it dis not interfere with a good night's sleep.

I did find the need to remove my shoes upon entry a bit quirky but seeing the condition of the house, it was not a big deal. I actually used the slipper socks from the plane trip over. ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was my second stay at Richard's guesthouse. As before, the entire guesthouse is spotlessly clean, and Richard is as friendly and helpful as ever.

My room was spacious. The WiFi coverage was excellent, which is increasingly important to the frequent traveler.

The location could not be more central than the 1912 Guest House.

Next time I'm in Reykjavik, and there will most definitely be a "next time", I'm certain to stay at the 1912 Guest House again.

I am constantly recommending Iceland to my friends, and for those who are going to be traveling to Reykjavik, the 1912 Guest House will be my suggestion to them for a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

At the end of my stay in Iceland I needed a hotel so I could be picked up by a transportation service to take me to the airport again.
After looking at several hotels I saw this old looking hotel. Great style!

Getting replies to e-mails went very fast so that was something wonderful. Since there is no 'reception', you still feel like there is some because of the communication you have with the owner.

You can enter the hotel whenever you want because you get 'the key'. For a clean floor and no loud footsteps you have to take of your shoes. It was like I was at home.

The bathroom was clean and for a tall guy like me it was great to have a shower where you can stand. Enough towels and a clean and simple bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Here you are in the middle of everything. We really appreciated our stay at this cosy guesthouse.
Although being really around the corner of the most important place of Reykjavik , the rooms are calm , friendly, typical Icelandic and clean.
We recommend contacting the owner (Richard) before by phone to agree timing & meet point.
He will give you some worthful advises where to find the best (and I mean the best) restaurants and places to be and touristics spots.
Many Thanks to him again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for two nights (a Friday and a Saturday) in late June. The room was clean, as was the rest of the house. The manager was great and gave me a bunch of good advice on places to go see (including the Dubliner, for which I'll write a separate review). I saw the other reviews complaining about noise and cost, and here's my perspective: Reykjavik is loud on the weekends. People party hard. You'll hear noise anywhere near downtown. Go during the week and it'll be quiet. Also, Iceland is expensive. Period.

I'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The second story or rooms on the side facing away from the Lækjargata (main street) will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 1912 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1912 Guest House

Address: Skolabru 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 1912 Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912 Guest House - Statutory Cited, Listed as: building of Special Architectural and Historic Interest. 1912 Guest House is perfectly located in the center of Reykjavik, next to the parliament of Iceland (Alþingi), 60 second walk to the city's main restaurants, cafes, clubs, art museums, galleries and shops. We offer luxury accommodation, clean, comfortable and recently refurbished. 9 twin rooms, 3 singles and 4 bathrooms. Breakfast upon request, delivered straight to the room. Whether you're staying one night, several days or just want to spend a romantic weekend in the heart of Reykjavik, the owners and staff will do everything to help make your stay truly memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your 1912 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1912 Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.