We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular sights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall)

Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall)
White River, Reykjavik, Iceland
486 6500
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$103*
and up
Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip...
Ranked #1 of 68 Attractions in Reykjavik
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered by many to be the country's most beautiful waterfall.
bergen county, nj
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was an amazing place to visit and explore. The waterfall is quite large and serene.
You have to be careful as there are no ropes or barriers to stop you from getting too close. There is an information board to give you some history of the place. It is definitely a must see tour to take while in Iceland.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,167
    1,215
    158
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scenic and Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My mother and I saw this waterfall on the Golden Circle tour, it was just beautiful. The area was blanketed with a fine layer of snow and the only down side to this was that the wooden board walk that takes you to the higher view point was a tad icy and could have been rather dangerous! We were fine though.

The cafe at the area is great! The tour guides recommend the lamb soup, GO FOR IT! It is very nice and you can go back for as much break and soup as you want. I had 6 rolls, I am a pig.

You do not realise how much the spray reached until you get back inside and feel how damp you are, I would not want anyone to go to Iceland without visiting this amazing waterfall.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Takes your breath away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The view and sound of this waterfall are spectacular! We went in December which meant that only one path way was open. It also meant that the weather was not the best to be out in the open elements. I have never been so cold and chilled to the bone, even through base layer thermals, clothes and wind proof over-proofs. The spectacular sight is a must for any visit to Iceland.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was an amazing spectacle - beats Niagara and others that we have visited. Photos just do not do it justice. It was the coldest - and coolest - place that we visited. We were almost blown several times by the winds. Very thankful for the advice of other contributors in that we had 4/5 layers on (and we had scoffed at that !!) A couple on the trip with us just had wellies and overcoats/hats and were really suffering !!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Breathtaking in more ways than one!! Beautiful place, very old and windy so need to wrap up warm. Well worth a visit

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.