We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COLD and SLIPPERY, but fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall)

Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall)
White River, Reykjavik, Iceland
486 6500
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$104*
and up
Reykjavik Super Saver: Blue Lagoon Round-Trip...
Ranked #1 of 68 Attractions in Reykjavik
Type: Waterfalls, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered by many to be the country's most beautiful waterfall.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“COLD and SLIPPERY, but fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you like Niagra Falls, you will like this. But it is VERY cold and VERY windy up there. This is cold like you have never felt before.. trust me.
There is a steep hill to walk down to get to the waterfall. The winds are so strong, that they blow the water from it onto the path. The water freezes and creates a VERY slippery slope. Bring good hiking boots or something with good traction

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,144
    1,212
    157
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fosstastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

What can you say about a beautiful wonder of nature and there are many of them around just about every corner you turn in Iceland.
Just watch out for the bored police men speed gunning in the pitch dark whilst driving towards you on emtpty almost deserted roads (out of season).
I got caught doing 126 Kmp/H when the limit is 90 which you could say was my own fault but £312 is the price I paid,....If I had been staying longer I would have opted for the 6 days imprisonment!!

Ah the pain the

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Smaller than some famous waterfalls, still awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I've been to the Gullfoss twice, 1st in late Feb. It covered with snow
and the water was stilling running strong. And last Oct. I went to the edge of the waterfalls which was awesome!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful - and very cold in late October”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The winds were really blowing and the spray was freezing on everything during our visit, so we stayed up top. (You can either stay on the flat above the falls or take the ~100 steps down to the base). But it was definitely worth a stop even in the off-season. The associated gift shop and restaurant was nice as well - they have a lamb soup deal that was very good and warming. There is internet available here though there is a fee (was something like 250kr/$2 for an hour). It is very close to Geyser and a standard part of most Golden Circle tours.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Breathtaking absolutely breathtaking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

And really close to Reykjavik. Roughly one hour away. More spectacular than Niagara Falls back home. Pretty rainbows in the spray. Glacial melt and COLD even in summer. Bring rain gear. Do it as part of the Golden Circle Tour. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gullfoss (Golden Waterfall), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.