We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favourite by miles.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's

Harry's
Raudararstigur 33, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
+354 588 1033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $32
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Our Favourite by miles.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Harry's is very close to the Hotel Klettur and a short distance from the town centre. We ate in about six restaurants in town, including the 1st and 2nd rated on Trpadvisor. 1 and 2 were very good but spendy (London and New York prices), $200 a couple for us without going mad, in fact sort of skimping. So, to Harry's.
An Icelandic/Philipina man and wife, lovely people, very friendly (Icelanders are nice people but not very geared to service providing it seems, sort of reserved you could say. Maybe I have lived in the USA too long where the gushing bonhomie is overpowering ! ), these guys were terrific. The atmosphere is cosy and warm, it's a small place. The food was absolutely excellent, with good portions and good value by local prices. I had the grilled fish with chips with salad and it was first rate. If we sound like 'Okies' my wife is a high line caterer and we eat out a lot in a big range of restaurants all over the world ! I just like my English grub once in a while ! A tip, bring as much wine as you can to Iceland, they didn't bother us at customs. An average Chilean Chardonnay will run you $40 in Iceland (a $9 bottle in Costco USA) for example. Argentine Merlot about the same.
Everybody's dishes looked very good in Harry's, tip top service and ace people, thanks Christian.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    132
    28
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great Value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

In a city where eating out is not cheap, this place is a delight.
The food we had was excellent, the desserts and hot drinks (blueberry cheesecake, coffee and hot chocolate) to finish were also top class.
I had a salad with Tuna and my husband had the highly rated fish and chips. Absolutely no complaints about either. Portions were also of a decent size.
I would unreservedly recommend this small friendly family run restaurant.
Going back again tomorrow.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We only went here on our first night in Iceland as we were staying next door & were too hungry to walk into town. I'm so glad we did! The service was great & the food was fabulous. We overheard one of the other diners mention that it's 10th in the Tripadvisor ratings for restaurants in Iceland. I'm not suprised. It's well worth the walk if you're staying in the Old Town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed It....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We ate at Harrys twice during our short break to Iceland. It wasn't far from our hotel which was handy. We tried the Fish & Chips, the battered shrimp, and the chicken curry. They were all decent portions, and tasted lovely. The prices were reasonable for Iceland. The service was friendly and efficient. Don't go there if you are in a hurry though as they cook everything fresh and in order. We arrived after a group of 10, and waited 45 minutes for our food. The waiter did warn us, and it was fine as we had plenty of time. Recommend it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

we visited Harry's which was around the corner from our hotel the Klettur. We visited early evening and there were already a few diners in there. Lovely atmosphere and pleasant staff. We both ordered cod and chips, the portions were huge and it was not greasy at all and full of flavour. We couldn't manage a dessert! Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Harry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.