We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for Cheap (Relatively) and Quick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nudluskalin

Nudluskalin
Skolavordustig 8 (Skolavordustig 8), Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 562 0202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $9 - $11
Cuisines: Noodle Shop
Restaurant details
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good Choice for Cheap (Relatively) and Quick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My wife and I ate here after an all day tour. We just wanted something quick and a little on the cheaper/easier side. This place did not disappoint. We both ordered Noodles in a Fen. The nice thing was being asked how spicy we wanted each one since we both have varying tastes for that. The bowls seemed to contain a ton of fresh ingredients, were served promptly and were quite tasty.

There is a small seating area and there seemed to be a mix of people trying to sit down and people going for takeout. It was comforting to see a lot of local also ordering there. While in most places it was expensive for what you get, we thought it was an excellent value in the center of Reykjavik. We certainly we not disappointed in going there and certainly would go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    31
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

If you want a quick meal during the sightseeing day, this is the place to go. The place is small but cozy with some tables if you decide not to take away but rather eat in. There are variety of choices for noodle with reasonable price. The thing that makes this noodle shop special is the freshness of the ingredients they use to prepare the noodle. I had a Gwiddíáw Domm Yamm and have to say that it was delicious! The soup was a bit spicy (you can mention to the staff during the order though whether you would like it spicy or not) but fresh and light with plenty of different herbs, including ginger, coriander, lime juice, etc. that combine nicely to each other. The staffs are also friendly and the location is just perfect as it is on the way up to the Hallgrímskirkja Church.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great variety, service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Delicious - quick, easy and cheap meal. My boyfriend's a vegetarian and he loved this place so much we came back for round 2 during our short trip. Fresh good quality food - definitely a must.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best noodles in Reykjavik!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I've been here loads of times, the food is so fresh and delicious and made very quickly. The quality of the meals is very good, they use a lot of fresh ingredients and you can add your own flavors on top. I loved it here! The staff are also very friendly and the shop itself is very cosy and warm.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a chilly day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I walked by this place several times before I had the chance to actually eat anything. The smell that exudes from this place definitely gives you a precursor to what you will find inside which is WONDERFUL. The shop is rather small with not a lot of seating, but it is totally worth it. The chance to have a bowl of noodles and broth that were both vegetarian was just amazing. It is a perfect lunch break if you are wandering around in the wind!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nudluskalin also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nudluskalin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nudluskalin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.