We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature Is Awesome - Guide was Quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extreme Iceland - Day Tours

Extreme Iceland - Day Tours
Vatnagardar 12, Reykjavik IS 104, Iceland
+354 588 1300
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Extreme Iceland Tour Operator! Extreme Iceland is a fully licensed travel agency that offers scheduled tours and private tours, both day tours and multi-day tours. We organize extreme winter super jeep tours, activity tours, day trips, longer tours, car rental self-drive tours, accommodation, all sorts of celebrations or just basically anything you can think of. A strong focus is placed on providing the best available service. The tours are operated by Extreme Iceland directly or teamed up with other accredited travel agencies of high professional standard. We specialize in tour design and travel operation for both scheduled and private tailor-made trips, summer or winter.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nature Is Awesome - Guide was Quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I went on the caving exploration tour with Extreme Iceland on February 16th, 2014. The caving part was awesome, as being in a cave in the middle of nowhere in Iceland is really interesting and fun. The scenery was spectacular, and the drive from the capital was only about 30 minutes on mostly main roads. We opted to be picked up from our hotel, the CenterHotel Klopp (part of many Centerhotel Klopp is part of a number of "centerhotels" around the capital, and is competitively priced and really centrally located. Recommended as long as you don't mind a bit of noise, as it is in the middle of the party area... which we enjoyed). As for the caving, the experience itself was epic! If you are extremely claustrophobic, you may want to skip this tour, as there are a few sections where it gets a bit tight (meaning crawling and climbing, but only for a few meters at a time).

The only downfall was the guide. Although he was extremely nice, picked us up right at 10:30 on the dot, and tried to answer our questions, he did not seem very informed or enthusiastic and didn't offer up very much information about the cave or the surrounding area. He was just really quiet, which is normally fine, but we don't know much about caves and would have appreciated a bit more of a tutorial or informative framework.

All in all, the cave exploration was a great experience, but you may want to look around for other companies or guides that would provide a better learning environment and a bit more enthusiasm.

(Note- don't bother brining a backpack or bag down into the cave...stash a camera in your jacket pocket, even though its really a bit too dark for pictures. Water resistant clothing is also helpful, as there were a few points that sliding on wet surfaces or snow was necessary).

Cheers and happy travels!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    41
    14
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Snowmobiling on top of the world”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Sadly, Extreme Iceland are not as efficient or honest, as Reykjavik Excursions, but good enough...
Pick up was meant to be half 8 - 9 for our Snowmobiling trip, they didnt show up, so I rang them. They said that somebody had come but we were not there, We were.
Then they called back to the front desk and said to tell us they were running late because of traffic but were on their way.
Then we got in the mini bus that eventually turned up 45 minutes late, and everyone on board was glaring at us - I presume they got the version where we hadnt shown up and they had to return for us. The driver then told us he was sorry he was late but had a problem with previous hotel - So what actually happened is anybody's guess.

When we finally got to our tour however, the people who were kitting us out, and taking us to the glacier, and snowmobiling, were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. It was a fantastic experience, and I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Its kind of a shame we had a shaky start to the trip, as our driver, although full of doom and gloom (I counted 32 different ways were could potentially die in Iceland) was very nice, and knowledgeable, and although went round in circles with his stories, gave some very good information about Iceland.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extreme Iceland - 2 day South Coast and Jokulsalron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I can recommend this trip to anyone who wants to do this. Some key highlights:
- well organized
- greatly communicated over e-mail
- great guide
- enough time spent in the different location
- Glacier Walk is a great experience
- overnight stay is in a lovely place

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Landmanalugar in time of Northern Lights AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I tried to do this trip last year but due to an unseasonably early thaw it was cancelled, so I booked for the beginning of February this year and I was not disappointed, it was the most amazing trip. We had 7 guests and 4 staff - Ragnar, Erla, Jonas and Oskar - they were all fantastic but a very special thanks to Ragnar for helping me capture stunning pictures of the northern lights. Food was good and the barbequed lamb that the staff cooked was so melt in the mouth it was stunning. This was a 3 day trip and whilst not the cheapest was worth every penny. Extreme Iceland staff were so informative, friendly and glad to answer questions and stop so we could see the most amazing sights. Happily recommend to anyone wanting to escape from civilisation/

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

They were very helpful during the planning stages of our trip and answered all our questions and concerns before we even stepped on the plane.
We were taken on a private tour of the Buri caves. Our guide was safe, knowledgable and fun.
This was one of the most incredible experiences of our lives and Extreme Iceland made it happen!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Extreme Iceland - Day Tours also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Extreme Iceland - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extreme Iceland - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.