We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip in Iceland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Explorer Tours

Nature Explorer Tours
Arakur 18 | 210 Gardabaer, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
+(354) 691 3900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 257 Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature Explorer offers tours in Iceland in Super Jeeps or Super-Trucks, which are modified 4x4s, which enable us to safely drive on glaciers and across unbridged rivers and reach otherwise inaccessible terrains, so that you can explore more of Iceland. We are a small, family run Icelandic tour operator, with a team of expert driverguides with background in Mt. Search & Rescue, 4x4 instructors and professional guides. We have a passion for Iceland and take pride sharing it in a personalized service on a variety of day and multi day tours. On our day tours out of Reykjavik we have the smallest group size in the industry, only 5 passengers per Super Jeep, but we can also cater to larger groups, and we offer private tours. We hope we can share your Iceland adventure.
1 review
“Great trip in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a great trip to Iceland. We took 2 day tours organized by Nature explorer Tours. Our guide Asi was excellent. We drove around in this huge 4-wd SUV and thoroughly enjoyed the volcanoes, glaciers, waterfalls and the landscape. Asi was knowledgeable, punctual and very friendly. A pity the clouds did not allow us to see the Northern lights. I would recommend Nature Explorer Tours to my friends.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidrun Klara J, Travel Planner at Nature Explorer Tours, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
If we could only control the weather... and guarantee a viewing of Northern Lights :) Unfortuantely it is like with many other nature things; sightings can never be guaranteed but we try to inform our customers of the chances and only go if there are clear skies and a chance to see the auroras. We‘re glad to hear you enjoyed the tours and thank you for recommending us to your friends – we will try our best to make sure they are still your friends after they tour with us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We debated for weeks whether to book the tour, 3 day Southern Iceland private tour. Thank God we did, it was amazing. When you consider everything included in the tour, it is actually excellent value.

Our guide Ingi was brilliant. He had the perfect balance of being attentive but discreet.

The super jeep and its capabilities were astounding! Every time I doubted an incline or obstacle would not be overcome, I was proven wrong.

Our highlight was driving through the virgin snow on a non existent road up a glacier to the summit of a volcano! It was breath taking.

I loved being part of a private tour.For example, we said we would like soup for lunch, Ingi was straight on the phone and booked a table in a rural hotel called Anna. We wanted to drive down a black beach and several hours later we did!

Brilliant beginning to end! Too many highlights to list!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawk_Nature_Expl, Owner at Nature Explorer Tours, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we‘re glad to hear you enjoyed your Iceland adventure with us.
This tour we call ‚South Iceland Classic‘ as it covers many classic sights in south Iceland, such as the geysers, black sand beach, glaciers and volcanoes – including the famous Eyjafjallajokull. We will also gladly custom design tours of any length according to your wishlist – and throw in a few ideas. We hope you will explore Iceland with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked two Nature Explorer tours to give us a taste of Iceland on our brief trip there last month. From the first communications with Hawk we were confident in our choice. He was extremely helpful and professional. Our guide, Jónsi, was fun, interesting, and engaging. The tour was obviously designed to get us maximum exposure to the major tourist sites, but also to expose us to "non-traditional" sites. The group sizes are extremely small and Jónsi was great about getting our opinions about what to see next. We will definitely schedule all future Iceland tours through nature Explorer tours. They are first rate!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawk_Nature_Expl, Owner at Nature Explorer Tours, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Yes, we have the smallest group size so we can talk just have a conversation with our customers rather than to hold speaches over a microphone or an intercom system. We are a small company so each customer is really important to us – and we are really glad that it got through to you. The advantage of doing our tours on modified 4x4‘s is that we explore glaciers and the wilderness with you – and that‘s what makes our jobs so enjoyable :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We would highly recommend Nature Explorer to get the real Icelandic experience.

This was more than just a holiday, it was an awesome experience. The knowledge imparted from Haukur ‘Hawk’, our Guide was excellent, professional, fun and memorable. We enjoyed locations not everyone gets to see. Hawk provided a personal service creating a customised itinerary for us to cover 4 days of touring. This included the Golden Circle, the South Shore, the Magnificent West and many locations in between. The SuperJeep is comfortable and is fitted out with all of the proper safety equipment you may need whilst touring the Icelandic wilderness including GPS, VHF radio, shovel and on-board compressor. This level of safety is assuring when you are on top of a glacier or driving through an icy riverbed miles from civilisation.

With Hawk being a professional guide and prolific photographer, he brings extra to the experience, little gems that only his knowledge can add, the best times to be at locations, not only to miss the crowds but for the very best lighting to take that awe inspiring photo and how best to position yourself to see the full effect, be it waterfall, glacier, lake or tectonic plate.

Hawk was great; he made our trip into an adventure and has given us many laughs along the way. All this and memories that will last a lifetime…

Thank you Hawk and Nature Explorer.

We hope to return to Iceland again and will definitely be contacting Nature Explorer.
Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawk_Nature_Expl, Owner at Nature Explorer Tours, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the kind words. One of the advantages of being a small company is that we can better adjust to the needs and wishes of our customers. We are happy to custom design private tours, mixing the classic sights with exploring glaciers, volcanoes and the highlands – safely.
On a personal note, I really enjoyed exploring Iceland with you guys :)
Warm wishes from Iceland - Haukur ('Hawk')
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Trip Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The 2nd time in Iceland and the day trip had to be with Nature explorer. After Hawk & the Golden Circle in 2011 there was only one choice. Both trips were unforgetable and enhanced by the drivers (Hawk & Clemance) knowledge & love for Iceland. We thought we knew best but Hawk knew better for the 2nd trip for our trip and we took his advice and what a trip it was (Fabulous). Thank you for your patience with a disabled person in getting us as close as possible to all the sites. To all those with a disability I would thoroughly recommend Nature Explorer. (For all you petrol heads out there the super Jeep was a beast). Nick, Jane, Simon & Clare

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Explorer Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nature Explorer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Explorer Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.