We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY way to see Iceland's many wonders” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nature Explorer Tours

Nature Explorer Tours
Arakur 18 | 210 Gardabaer, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
+(354) 691 3900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 257 Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature Explorer offers tours in Iceland in Super Jeeps or Super-Trucks, which are modified 4x4s, which enable us to safely drive on glaciers and across unbridged rivers and reach otherwise inaccessible terrains, so that you can explore more of Iceland. We are a small, family run Icelandic tour operator, with a team of expert driverguides with background in Mt. Search & Rescue, 4x4 instructors and professional guides. We have a passion for Iceland and take pride sharing it in a personalized service on a variety of day and multi day tours. On our day tours out of Reykjavik we have the smallest group size in the industry, only 5 passengers per Super Jeep, but we can also cater to larger groups, and we offer private tours. We hope we can share your Iceland adventure.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The ONLY way to see Iceland's many wonders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent 5 nights in Iceland, in 3 different hotels, all organised through Nature Explorer. Ingi, our driver/guide, was waiting for us at Keflavik airport and from there we began a great holiday. It is an understatement to say that Iceland is spectacular. Yes, the Northern Lights are amazing but there is just so much more to see & enjoy...blue lagoon, glacier lagoon, waterfalls, glaciers, volcanoes, stunning coastline...the list goes on & on. And everyone you meet is so friendly. Ingi was great...excellent driver, chatty, very knowledgeable, patient while we were taking hundreds off photos, and the "off roading" was great fun. I cannot recommend Nature Explorer highly enough, the personal service where you get to see so much that is "off the beaten track" is the only way to see Iceland. When (not if) we return to this lovely country we will definitely use them again

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    6
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great way to see Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had only 3 days to explore outside of Reykjavik and Nature Explorer was the perfect way to do it. Hauk arranged everything: airport pickup, a hotel in Reykjavik, and 3 days out in the country with a great guide (Ingki) and nice accomodations. We saw and experienced a lot including volcanoes, glaciers, geysers, and Northern Lights. This company really showed that it cared about us when, the day before our scheduled tour, they completely changed the itinerary due to a poor weather forecast in the area we were scheduled to go to. It resulted in extra work and expense for the company (but not for us), but we were rewarded with good weather and an excellent experience. This tour and this company are highly recommended. Next time we'll explore a different part of Iceland, but will definitely go with Nature Explorer!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved Jeep Tour with Gusti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Absolutely loved the jeep tour of the Golden Circle with Nature Explorer. Our tour guide Gusti was fabulous and an excellent tour guide. Gusti took care of us on the jeep tour and kept us entertained by driving off road, through the snow, and water. Gusti shared information about beautiful Iceland and it’s people. I will definitely do tours with Gusti and Nature Explorer next time I come to Iceland. I loved the Jeep we were in, it was definitely top of the line and kept us comfortable through the Icelandic terrain and weather. Gusti and Nature Explorer thank you for making our jeep tour a wonderful and memorable experience. Looking forward to doing another Jeep Tour with you next time I make it to Iceland

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax, fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reputable and Honest Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We took both the Northern Lights and Golden Circle Tours. We tried to go out 2 nights for the Northern Lights. We saw some through a cloud once one night. Both nights we went out the company was very honest with us regarding the chances of seeing lights. The clerk at the front of the hotel was telling us that all the other tour groups were going out even though they were calling for clouds. Nature Explorer always leaves it up to you to go or not but it was refreshing to get a straight answer regarding the odds of seeing the lights. Other companies would just take your money and take you out in the country! Great private option instead of the large bus.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“We did 3 tours with this company”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

It is a lot of time to spend in a jeep. You literally drive around 90% of the time and step out only to see a certain destination for 10-20 minutes or do a short hike. Our tour guide was very nice but not very talkative and it was kind of tough to spend 8-9 hrs with someone when you had to extract information from them like teeth. It was a good way to see a lot of Iceland but at the end of each day of continuos driving I was exhausted.
The booking office was very professional and easy to work with. They accommodated all of our requests. I didn't like the lunch places we picked to stop on the way - one of them was a 7 Eleven type place adjoined to the gas station. For how much money we paid, we could have had a more authentic lunch planned out. At the small country restaurant we did stop at - the only thing on the menu was Icelandic meat soup which wasn't as tasty as the ones we had in Reykjavik.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawk_Nature_Expl, Owner at Nature Explorer Tours, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our little company, Nature Explorer.
We try our very best to be above average; we probably have the smallest group size of any tour operator, with max 5 people in each Super-Jeep and the newest fleet in the industry in Iceland. Unlike the bus companies, we don‘t set our clients time limits at each site so if you need more time, we are happy to adjust. It‘s a fine line for us driver-guides to find, how talkative we should be but we try to adjust to our clients needs and wishes. One of the advantages of our tours is that our clients can easily ask questions and strike a conversation with the driver-guide as we are not dependent upon a speaker system or intercoms like most of our competitors. In most countryside places in Iceland there are not too many lunch places to choose from so quite often we are picking up sandwiches at a local store. On the Golden Circle there are two places to choose from; Gullfoss Cafe and Geysir.
If you have any questions, comments or requests, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Sincerely,
Haukur Parelius, Nature Explorer - Iceland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Explorer Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Nature Explorer Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nature Explorer Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.