We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Downtown Hostel to your Saves list
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Hostel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The hostel is in a great location. Just a short walk to everything. The staff was amazing and very wiling to provide any assistance you might need. The rooms were very clean an large in size. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed in and I would recommend it as an option for all travelers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    48
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
44
52
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

This is a great hostel, situated in the centre of Reykjavik, close to the harbour, to the Tourist Information Centre and to one of the main bus stations where you have many connections. There are at least 2 supermarkets around and a booze shop. It is very clean, staff is very nice and the kitchen is very well-equiped, In the same building with the kitchen there is a cozy lounge upstairs where you can enjoy reading a book and drinking a cup of tea.
I totally recommend it, I had a great time there!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I slept on this hostel last Friday 23th april. I acknowledge my stay there and thank specially the warm, professional and excellent staff working in this hostel, specially in those hard times with the volcano crisis.
They helped me for my flight booking and other thousand of arrangements I needed.
It was great to know a very good place to stay.
Safe, clean, warm and close to the main restaurants

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

This was my first trip to Iceland and first time staying in a hostel/dormitory. Reykjavik is pricey for hotels and not many brand names besides Hilton and Radisson, Hostelling International has 2 properties. I stayed at the downtown location. The location is very central to many attractions, shops, restaurants, and stores. It is a couple blocks back from the main square so it is quiet. Definitely feel like a hotel, very clean, bathrooms in room, staff courteous, and modern yet simple decor. Breakfast is 1000kr or about $8 is all you want but if u looking to save you can easily save 200-500kr in a little coffeeshop. ALso bring a sleeping bag, sheet sack, and a pillowcase and/or pillow to save a linen fe.e. Best hostel ever stayed in dont say much cuz its the first, but the ba is set high for all others around world.

Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

This hostel was brilliant value for money. It was centrally located, 2 minutes from restaurants & bars and close to local attractions. The room was spacious & clean with lovely fresh linen & a beautiful bathroom.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast consisted of fruit juice, coffee, cereals & bagels with cheese & spreads.

It really exceeded my expectations and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is an excellent place to stay right in downtown Reykjavik. It just opened in April 2009, so the hostel is brand new and clean. I was pleasantly surprised by the comfortable twin beds with soft duvet covers! The hostel itself is centrally located on a quiet, cobblestone street in downtown Reykjavik. I had the best sleep on those nights, as it was on a quiet street that's close to the bars but far enough away from the noise. The hostel is only a very short walk to some of Reykjavik's best coffee shops, restaurants, major attractions.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a cozy guest kitchen, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, Movie hire. Hearty breakfast with organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the city inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan since 2010. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Downtown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.