We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Save Saved
You added Reykjavik Downtown Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“great hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Liked this hostel nothing to complain about.
the kitchen was clean and comfortable.
The room was clean and bathroom was fine.

only small warning is that the dorm room that i stayed in, didnt have locks on the lockers, when i tried to use my own lock, but the locker was too thick so normal locks don't always work.

But it was great. I checked out the sister hostel Reykjavik Loft hostel. I liked the view from there and location, i would recommend there also

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    45
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
43
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is in a strategic location literarily in the middle of the best restaurants, bars, and clubs of Reykjavik.

We spent one night in a double room enclosure with private bathroom facing the sea. It was bright, spacious, and very clean. The whole hostel is very modern and looks new or recently renovated. The staff was nice and helpful and there was free WiFi everywhere.

The price was in line with other similar accommodations in the area. However, we had to pay an additional fee per person as non-members of Hostelling International. Since the surcharge is per night, if you're staying for a few days or you're planning to sleep in other hostels during your trip it's recommended that you buy a HI membership card instead (it can be purchased at the hostel).

Overall, the Downtown Hostel is a very good choice for a short stay in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very welcoming en friendly staff. They offered to make phonecalls about our lost luggage. Perfect location, in the city center. Nice,clean room with our own neat shower en toilet. We even had seaview. Good boxspring bed in our 2 bedded rooms with. Warm, cosy kitchen in the backyard where we cooked our dinner. This place makes me feel happy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hostel is well located, close to the harbour, vlose to the main shopping/tourist area without being right in the centre of it. The staff is helpful and efficient. There is a sitting area next to the lobby, where you can buy coffee/tea. I stayed in a dorm and it was surprisingly quiet. The communal kitchen and the rooms are very clean. Most importantly if you go in the summer, the curtains are thick enough to block the sunlight.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I'm a teacher who took 21 students on a tour of Germany. We had a free stopover in Iceland and decided to see what we could in only 2 days. We chose the Downtown Hostel because of its proximity to the harbour. The front staff was super helpful. They suggested a fabulous Thai restaurant nearby that could accomodate our large group and not break the budget. The staff also arranged for us to have our breakfast early since we had to leave before breakfast was normally served. The 12 girls in my group stayed in a large dorm type room with bunk beds and the boys stayed in a separate dorm room. The additional chaperoning teacher and I stayed in a room with twin beds. The bedding was comfortable as were the beds. I was worried about my room getting dark enough to sleep since we were visiting Iceland at a time of year when the sun never sets, but the black out shades blocked the sun quite nicely. I appreciated the free wifi so that I could send a few emails. Breakfast was served in the main lobby of the hostel. Yogurt, muesli, cereal, bagels, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, and different types of bread with jam/butter/honey were offered. My students were able to eat a hearty breakfast before heading out to tour Iceland. This hostel was super clean, friendly and relatively affordable when you consider how expensive everything in Iceland is. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We loved this place, just out of the main hustle and bustle but still within walking distance of the main streets. The twin room with ensuite was bright and spacious (especially for a hostel!), comfortable and clean. The staff were very friendly and helped us decide what to do each day and booked tours for us. The breakfast is light but very good and they even had gluten free rice cakes for me. The reception area is comfortable but can get crowded at breakfast. I only wished that there was a lift for our heavy bags and that the kitchen was closer to the rest of the rooms (it is out the back - slightly annoying on a rainy night when you want to pop down and make a cup of tea).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is in the middle of everything and the FlyBus will take you directly there from the airport. Friendly staff and very nice room. We stayed in a double private room on the top floor. It was a perfect little room with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is located in the center of the city, a stone's throw away from the old harbor and the city cultural centers. It is an award winning HI Hostel, eco certificate**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Facilities include a guest kitchen, cozy lounges, laundry, Cafe and free luggage storage during stay. Spacious 4 and 10 bedded dorm rooms, with lockers and private bathroom facilities. Family rooms for up to 5 persons with private bathroom facilities. Comfortable double rooms with shared and private facilities. Bike & Car hire and all excursions are bookable at the tour desk. Free WI-FI throughout the building. Airport transportation. We will be waiting you at the reception, open 24hrs.**Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is a Swan Eco Certified hostel. Swan certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Downtown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.