We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel but my experience wasn't the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Reykjavik Downtown Hostel to your Saves list
Reykjavik Downtown Hostel
Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersGold level
O'Fallon, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great hostel but my experience wasn't the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Got to the hostel and it was great. My room was empty but it filled up before bedtime. 4 people to a room. One of them was a guy who didn't speak English and once he fell asleep he snored as loud as a jet engine. The guy under me woke him up and told him to try to stop. Few minutes later it happened again and I thought he was going to kill the guy haha. I got up and said "good luck" then left at 2am after about no sleep. I had an early flight anyway so it wasn't an issue. As far as the hostel goes, it was very nice and lots to do. Just make sure you have roommates that don't snore or ask to move maybe.

Room Tip: Get a room without a Snorlax :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    48
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
44
52
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Let me tell you about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel: friendly and helpful staff, perfect location and very good/clean premises. Shower drain got clogged, but they addressed it immediately. The door lock problem took a while to be fixed, though. Be advised that it is not every padlock that locks the lockers – you need a thick one.
Being a bit obsessed with recycling, I loved the fact they are concerned about environmental issues as well. And the hostel is close to the place you can get your TAX refund!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lots of room and super clean. All I could ask for in a hostel! A little pricey for what it is but worth it to save money in an expensive city.

The service is also wonderful- as are most people in Iceland.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Rooms and bathrooms were cleaned everyday. I stayed in a 10 bed female dorm and the bathroom was amazing, the shower is huge. There are not enough toilets however and a few times I had to run to a separate building. I seemed to have a lot of 'older' guests in my room who would go to bed early and I often felt uncomfortable coming in a bit later. This is no 'party' hostel. A great place to make friends in the communal spaces though. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here in two separate lots, 3 nights in a 4 bed dorm and then 8 nights in a 10 bed dorm later in my trip.
I absolutely loved it here. Firstly, the location is amazing. You're right in the heart of downtown Reykjavik and walking distance to everything (shops, bars, the harbour, BSI bus terminal, supermarkets, the best hot dog stand in Reykjavik!), but Vesturgata is a relatively quiet street so it's a perfect spot! I even had a tiny view of the Old Harbour from the 10 bed dorm!
Secondly, everything is really new and super clean.

Other special mentions go to:
- good, stable bunk beds
- large, free, in-room lockers for safe storage
- decent hairdryers for rent (you just put down a 1000kr deposit which you get back when you return it)
- DIMMERS on the lights! If you hold the switch down it dims, such a great idea. My only complaint would be that nobody else in my dorms seemed to figure the dimmers out, maybe tell people when they check-in!
- in the 4-bed dorm there was split-room lighting, also genius!
- large showers with adjustable shower head height
- friendly, helpful staff
- good music playing in the lobby!
- quiet sitting rooms above the guest kitchen (came in handy quite often while I was in the 10 bed dorm!)
- such an amazing environmental awareness!

I can't say enough good things about this place. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Reykjavik!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It is s very nice place to stay, modern hostel, very clean. Very helpful staff (even at 3 in the morning). Great location - close to the centre of the city and 5 min walk to the harbour. The room was spacious with en-suite (clean!!!) More expensive that the City Hostel but it's higher standard too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here three nights in a women's 10-bed dorm, and it was lovely. The room was modern, clean, roomy, and the beds were comfortable. There was also a nice ensuite bath and large lockers for each guest. There was room for two nice wicker arm chairs and table, with vintage posters on the walls. Security was great, desk staff helpful, and guest kitchen was well-stocked with utensils, baskets for storage, as well as communal items like tea and spices. The kitchen did get crowded with some serious self-caterers. Location was lovely--just a few blocks from the old town square, harbour, and a short walk on to all the downtown attractions. It was also a quite street, which is great if you need to get some sleep in the land of the midnight sun! The hostel will arrange pick-up for tours and airport buses. It was really the nicest hostel experience I've ever had.
Tip: don't purchase your Blue Lagoon entry at the hostel--you'll pay a few euros more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reykjavik Downtown Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Downtown Hostel

Address: Vesturgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning boutique HI Hostel, ECO certified**, modern, comfortable and welcoming. Located stone's throw from the old harbor and the city cultural center, in a quiet residential street. Facilities include a cozy guest kitchen, lounges and a Cafe. Laundry facilities and luggage storage on the site. Fast and free WI-FI across all areas. Free Computer access. Board games, Movie hire. Hearty breakfast with organic & vegan options. A wide selection of great rooms! Linen is included in all rooms. Spacious shared/female only 10 bedded dorm rooms with en suite facilities and lockers (bring your own lock). Family rooms for up to 5 persons with en suite facilities and lockers. Comfortable twin/double rooms with shared or private facilities (towels included). Reception / Tour Desk / Cafe : open 24 hours a day. Our hostel staff knows the city inside out and are on hand to help with anything you need. All excursions, Car Rentals and Airport trips are bookable with free pickup / drop off. **Reykjavik Downtown Hostel is Eco Certified with the Nordic Swan since 2010. The certification is a trusted ecological label in the Nordic countries, which demonstrates a well-considered and thorough sustainability policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Reykjavik Downtown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reykjavik Downtown Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reykjavik Downtown Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.