We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallery Restaurant - Hotel Holt

Gallery Restaurant - Hotel Holt
Bergstadastraeti 37 | Hotel Holt, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Formerly Gallery Restaurant - Hotel Holt)
354-552-5700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $20 - $85
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Gallery Restaurant was chosen the best restaurant in Iceland 2012 by Nordic Prize.The restaurant is set in an intimate room with beautiful artwork all around and offer several kinds of private rooms for groups and individual. The selection of our gourmet menus includes fresh Icelandic ingredients, steaks and seafood for lunch and dinner. Gallery Restaurant has never been better than right now, whether you are looking for a romantic meal with your loved one, dinner with friends or a family feast, this is the place to celebrate all that is good in life.Our walk-in wine cellar includes about 4000 vintage wines - why not try wine tasting in our cellar to set the mood for a memorable evening?Open every day from 12-14pm and 18-22:30pm.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I and my wife went to the Gallery restaurant at our last evening in Reykjavik. I can not wish a better end of a vacantion.

We had both a menu and this was great. The food was just amazing! We had some wine with it, which was recommend by a waiter. The combination of the wine and the food was perfect, like it was made for each other.
The atmosphere is great, it is really classic with beatifull paintings and some good background music.
The service was either great, they explane everything on the plate and we ask some questions about it and they know everything.

This is how a restaurant supposed to be!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    15
    11
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Located in the Holt Hotel, the Gallery Restaurant does not go out of its way to advertise its presence. It is this kind of quiet moderation in Iceland that usually precedes something very good. And this is equally true of the Gallery Restaurant. We booked a table for a special occasion and boy, was it! The setting is fantastic, you eat surrounded by dozens of paintings by icelandic artists in a large, romantically lit room. We booked a table for a special occasion and were seated in the corner next to one of the larger canvases.
The food was excellent. I had the lobster bisque which was absolutely fantastic and the icelandic beef t-bone, also a treat. My brother had the foie gras and the lamb and they were also flawless. Even the little amuse-bouche that we were served was quite good.

The food and the drink come on separate bills and as drink is expensive in Iceland watch your consumption. The wine list is very good but stay away from the draught beer, it's horrible.

The only things that i possibly can complain about are the tablecloths, a little worse for wear (but that seems to be a general problem with the Holt rather than a specific problem for the Gallery) and the fries that came as a side for the steak which were most definitely not belgian fries despite being advertised as such.

If you're staying at the Holt, present your waiter with the little piece of paper with the wi-fi password on it. That gives you a 10% discount in the Gallery.

All in all, the Gallery is a fantastic place to eat and our second best dining experience in Reykjavik. Do not miss it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best art and food in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me and my husband went to Gallery Restaurant and had a very pleasant evening there. The place has a lot of pantings from the pioneers of Icelandic art scene, both at the restaurant and the bar. We took a menu with several small dishes. Every thing was very tasty and all the material was so fresh. I recommend this place to all art lovers and those who like quiet places with excellent service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm and elegant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Well located, very good food and service at a reasonable price in this friendly atmosphere where all the walls feature paintings by major artists of the nation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Dissapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Went with my husband hoping for great food and a great service. It didn't start well, we had to search for somone to welcome us. We both had the "Kjarval" menu. The first course was great, but the Skate was not at all good and even the Lamb was overcooked.
We are used to perfect service in this restaurant, but this night there were two servers, both who preferred to speak English, which I hate in an Icelandic restaurant.
We will not hurry back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallery Restaurant - Hotel Holt also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Gallery Restaurant - Hotel Holt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallery Restaurant - Hotel Holt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.