We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place. Great food! Great prices.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balkanika

Balkanika
Vitastigur 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
562-8484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 322 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great place. Great food! Great prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This place its in a small Reykjavik street, but just steps away from the main street. Great stuff and nice ambiance. You should definitely try it out!! I ordered lamp shish kebab and it came with hummus, tzaziki, rise, salad and delicious pita bread- huuuge meal! My husband took some grilled salomon. Also great choice. As a appetizer we got some dolma and paprika burek.
Definitely recommending this place also cuz of the great prices!!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A touch of Eastern Promise in cold Reykjavic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We came upon this restaurant accidentally and are so glad we went in to eat. We were on a very short timescale and they provided an excellent meal for two very quickly. The quality and flavours were perfect. So much so that we went back a few days later when we had more time, to enjoy their set meal of 10 dishes to share. It was excellent. A warm and cosy restaurant with lovely service and ambience. Definitely go, you won't be disappointed. Oh and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great menu choice big portions, reasonably priced for Reykjavik. Service was excellent and atmosphere cosy. We ate twice here and had Bulgarian, Greek and Med dishes all were made with good quality ingredients and well cooked. No hesitation in recommending this small restaurant as it has something for everyone on its menu. On both nights it got full by 8.00 p.m. so reservations might be advisable if eating later.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A must-go dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is a small restaurant off the main shopping area in what was probably once a house. I had the chicken kebabs and my husband had the chicken stew, and we had a couple of appetizers--the stuffed peppers and the sesame chicken strips. The stuffed peppers were battered and fried and were reminiscent of chile rellenos. The sesame chicken strips were crisp and flavorful. The chicken stew had a hint of curry to it but had a wonderful flavor, as did my kabab. You definitely get fed well here and the prices are very reasonable. I had the chocolate cake for dessert, which was fudge-like in consistency with layers of nuts and possibly pastry and was delicious. My husband finished the mean with a real Turkish coffee and baklava which he enjoyed. One of the best meals we had.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow! Fresh food at it's best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We chanced upon this restaurant on our last night in Reykjavik. Small, cosy and with a warm welcome, we were the only ones in there. The food was very reasonably priced compared to other meals we had eaten in the city, and the portions very generous.
My starter was a huge plate of meatballs, which were minced beef and lamb and came with salad and a dressing. In the centre of the meatballs were toasted pine nuts which were delicious. This starter was easily enough for 2 to share! My friend had chicken strips fried with some kind of crispy coating and sesame seeds - also delicious. Main courses were traditional style kebabs made with lean, fresh meat, and a chicken stew served in an earthenware pot. These came with homemade flat pitta bread. A fantastic meal at half the price of the one we had a couple of streets away the night before.
I would describe this restaurant as a blend of mediterranean, Turkish and Greek food, all made with fresh ingredients and spices.
Lovely - I would strongly recommend this place, unless you are looking for traditional Icelandic food, then obviously you won't get that here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkanika also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Balkanika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balkanika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.