We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kitchen Eldhus

Kitchen Eldhus
Laugavegur 60A, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
51 777 95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This Nepalese and Indian food restaurant serves delicious food using personally imported spices. The personal attention of the chef completes this experience. In our short stay on Iceland we had to come back to enjoy the Nepalese chefs specialty before heading back to the Netherlands.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    55
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A top notch restaurant that knows how to make it good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Sometimes an Indian/Nepalese restaurant can be a risky proposition when dining away from home. Not so here as the food was excellent from start to finish. Everything from the Naan breads to the flavorful main dishes through to dessert were well prepared and presented. The tastes were wonderful and I recommend this be on your must eat there list

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Really delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My friend and I found this place by accident. The food is really tasty, simple, and cheap by Iceland standard. The portions were totally reasonable and the staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food reasonably priced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

From the outside Kitchen Eldhus looks a bit ordinary but the quality of the food was excellent. Chefs recommended starter is also complimentary. One of the nicest currys i have ever tasted. Would definitely go there again if in Reykjavik.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosfellsbaer, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We did go now two times and eat there.
The food is fantastic and the owner is so nice, helpful and friendly and you feel so welcome there.
We will go there again and again and again :-)
If you can not deside on what you wana eat the owner helps you out and he was also helping us to figure out how strong we wana have the food.
So, dont miss this one when you are in Reykjavik.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitchen Eldhus also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kitchen Eldhus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kitchen Eldhus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.