We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odinn was an amazing guide; great, small group tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iceland Horizon Golden Circle Tour

Iceland Horizon Golden Circle Tour
Granaskjol 38, Reykjavik, Iceland
+354 866 7237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 258 Activities in Reykjavik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating only a few select daily scheduled tours which are always in small groups, Iceland Horizon is a small, family run tour operation with no intention of becoming a large bus company. Our philosophy has always been that you are travelling on a guided tour and the bus is just a means of transport, keeping the experience more personal, friendly and fun for both travellers and guides. We also arrange tours for groups wanting a private or individual arrangement.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Odinn was an amazing guide; great, small group tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

The tour was phenomenal. Our guide, Odinn, was incredibly responsive and informative. Given the small size of the group, we were able to adjust our schedule to accommodate the weather. We were also able to stop and interact with a small group of Icelandic horses... something you just can't do on one of the big tours!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    27
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotia, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I Left Wanting More....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

My recent trip to Iceland culminated with a tour of the Golden Circle hosted by David of Iceland Horizon. David apologizes for speaking so much, but he is so full of knowledge of the country and he wants to share it with his guests...no complaints here. His stories weren't "canned" and you felt his pride of being a part of the Icelandic culture. David watches for the crowds and changed the order of destinations visited to minimize congestion with the other tour groups on the same route. The tour group was small and inviting. Iceland Horizon will be my first contact on my next trip to Iceland.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Do this tour first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

A great introduction to Iceland. David provides the perfect introduction to the country, not only the sights but an insight into the essence of the place. Entertaining and informative with the personal touch. He uses a minibus rather than a big coach, which has advantages in flexibility and avoiding the crowds, as far as this is possible for such a popular circuit. this will set you up for a great holiday in Iceland.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Really Amazing and Full of Surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

David is the (only?) guide and he will pick you up in a smaller van with about 12 people. My fiance and I went on the Golden Cirlce and the Snaefellsness tours and they were both really great. The tour itself is on a smaller scale (in terms of people) and David is full of knowledge---geology, politics, economics--everything. He is also British. I only mention this b/c since it's mostly foreigners who go on the tours, he offers a great persepctive on the country and what it's all about. He also has a wicked sense of humor. he's a hilarious guy and incredibly easygoing. What I loved most about both tours is that there was a lot of opportunity for spontaneous stops along the way. I don't want to really give anything away, but each place we stopped at was very special and eye-opening. I would recommend the Snaefellsness if you could only choose one tour. Snaefellness (especially in May) has a lot less people and the area is incredible. It's a great opportunity to see a more rural and rugged Iceland. It was so beautiful and I would definitely go back and do it again. The prices are very decent, as well. Considering how much money you will be spending in Iceland...the tours were worth it. Thank you, David.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Golden Circle Tour - April 30th, 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

We did the Golden Circle Tour on April 30th and we had a fantastic local guide through Iceland Horizon Tours - he was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with regards to giving advice for other attractions in Reykjevik. We spent a week in Iceland and this was the last of 4 other organized tours and by far it was the best overall and best value for your money - I would highly recommend.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Horizon Golden Circle Tour also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Horizon Golden Circle Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iceland Horizon Golden Circle Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.