We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tours and guide.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iceland Horizon - Golden Circle Tour

Iceland Horizon - Golden Circle Tour
Granaskjol 38, Reykjavik, Iceland
+354 866 7237
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Operating only a few select daily scheduled tours which are always in small groups, Iceland Horizon is a small, family run tour operation with no intention of becoming a large bus company. Our philosophy has always been that you are travelling on a guided tour and the bus is just a means of transport, keeping the experience more personal, friendly and fun for both travellers and guides. We also arrange tours for groups wanting a private or individual arrangement.
uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb tours and guide.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Second time with this tour company. I would not consider any other. David is a fantastic guide and has a wealth of knowledge about this country. we were really upset that there were only 2 of us for the Souith Shore Tour and that is not viable for the company, but David kept us informed and at the last minute found 4 others for this great tour, so off we went. Simply amazing, a wonderful tour, wonderful guide and we are so glad that others thought so too and we were able to do this spectacular visit to the South Coast.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    32
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still Talking About it a Week Later!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I was thrilled with everything I learned and saw on the Golden Circle Tour with David! It was my first trip to Iceland and it would not have been half as good as it was without the experience of listening to David on this tour and seeing the dramatic sights on a small tour with perfect timing!

After my first few days in Iceland I was still struggling to figure out this fascinating country, but after the tour with David I finally had an understanding of what Iceland is all about!

He shared stories and information with a great sense of humor! I was laughing when I saw Brussel sprouts at the supermarket this morning....remembering David's story of the day everyone in Iceland went out to buy them for the first (and last) time!

David also has a great way of explaining the geology and I didn't believe him that the last stop on the trip would be the best - but it was! Even after seeing stunning waterfalls and the impressive geyser, the scenery at "the divide between the continents" was not to be missed! And that was on a rainy day!

We did manage to see the Gullfoss waterfall while the sun was shining, thanks to David's cloud watching and decision to take us there before going back to see the geyser! We also seemed to manage to arrive at the sights just before the big tour buses got there!

I could go on and on about this tour....how we learned about the complexity of the Icelandic language, the history of the country and the developments in geothermal energy...but you will just have to experience it for yourself!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Use this company for your Golden Circle tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We were initially a bit worried about being on a full minibus as we are both tall people and felt a bit squashed at first! But our worries soon disappeared as we settled down and listened to David as he told us all about modern Iceland and it's development in the recent decades. This talk was very interesting and made the first leg of the journey fly by! We stopped off at a power station to learn all about the potential that Iceland has to become a major player in the renewable energy future.

A quick stop off to stroke some Icelandic horses was also a nice added bonus! David took us to Gullfoss before the geysers as he said the weather was likely to get windier and colder later on. I doubt one of the bigger providers would have been so flexible.

Each of the many stops are only 10-20 minutes apart so the journey doesn't drag. The magnificent scenery on both sides helps as well!

David has judged how much time is needed at each stop so you never feel rushed or are left hanging around waiting to get back on the bus.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor, WI USA
1 review
“Outstanding tour guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I have done a fair bit of traveling over the years. There are times I have put in iPod headphones to tune out the drivel from the loudspeaker.

Not this time. David was the best tour guide I have ever heard. He has a pleasant voice and a wealth of information. He knows when to talk and whent to let the landscape speak for itself. I came away from his tour with a wealth of knowledge about modern day Iceland, geology, history, language and government. He was superb. I cannot recommend this tour enough. Despite rather nasty weather, the day flew by and was the highlight of our trip to Iceland. There are other companies available - do yourself a favor and ask for David Wellsbury's tour. You will not regret it.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Having a Good Tour Guide is Important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We booked the Golden Circle tour for March 19th with Iceland Horizons based on the positive comments that we read about on TripAdvisors, and we are pleased to report that we were not disappointed! As mentioned by others, having David as the tour guide is definitely the best way to go because he is very knowledgeable and very articulate. We enjoyed his friendly personality, and we can see that he tries to provide the best customer experience. Besides the main attractions (the geysers, the waterfall and Pingvellir), the best part of the trip was when he stopped by the roadside to let the group spend some time with the Icelandic horses. Iceland Horizons also offer the advantage of being a small group, with a van of only 16-17 people at most per tour.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iceland Horizon - Golden Circle Tour also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Iceland Horizon - Golden Circle Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iceland Horizon - Golden Circle Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.