We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, authentic fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Icelandic Bar (Islenski Barinn) - CLOSED

Icelandic Bar (Islenski Barinn)
Posthusstraeti 9, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 578 2020
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good, authentic fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Wandered into this place to grab a quick bite before catching the bus to the airport home. So glad we stumbled upon it. There were many locals hanging out and enjoying the fare. We had the reindeer burger and lamb sandwich (both good) and a small portion of the Icelandic fish stew (also good, though very heavy). The server was very knowledgeable and the food was reasonably priced by Icelandic standards. A very casual and laid-back place - we just grabbed a couple of stools at a high table in the bar area.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic, laid back, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We tried their langoustine open sandwich and their reindeer burger and they were both delicious.

The look of the place is authentic and full of locals.

Free wi-fi, as most cafés and restaurants in Iceland.

Was disappointed to see they had minke whale on their menu when only 5% of the Icelandic population actually eats it or condones the hunting.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, MI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Perfect spot on a sunny day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Usually we read Trip Advisor before going to any bar/resturant in an area we do not know, but just stumbled onto this one. We were very glad we did! The food was great and our son and Dad enjoyed the Icelandic beer that was recommended by our server. The server was friendly and helpful. He took his time to explain the beer and Icelandic dishes even though the place was very busy. Our son and his girlfriend ordered various Icelandic fish dishes that were recommended while we stuck with more American dishes. Everyone enjoyed their selections. Since it was a beautiful day, we decided to remain outside at one of the tables provided. The park across the street was filled with people enjoying the sunshine, and we were entertained by a number of musicians and jugglers. I did go inside to use the restroom (washroom) and appreciated the decor. We felt the price was pretty much in line with all the resturants in Iceland. It is more expensive than what we are use to spending in the United States, but our son from Copenhagen, Denmark, thought it was very inexpensive. Guess it is simply which country you are coming from and what costs are like where you live. Iceland is expensive compared to America, but in comparison to Copenhagen, Denmark, everything seemed very reasonable. We did not visit the Icelandic Bar in the evening, but I'm sure it's a great place to be for night life in Reykjavik.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Icelandic Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The name translated means "Icelandic Bar", which describes the general theme of the decor and menu. This bar is one of the few by the parliament garden therefore it reaps the benefits of the bustling atmosphere in the summer. With outdoor seating, reindeer burgers and an extensive beer collection, this bar attracts a good gathering daily. Live music can be heard from this bar in the evenings and their wheel can be spun in hope of winning more beer. Islenski Barinn has a warm and cosy ambiance with it's wooden interior and Icelandic decorations. The seats are filled with a variety of different people but the common thread is to chat and enjoy a nice time. Weekends, as with most bars, are the busiest time for this bar.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“just like grandma makes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We went to the Islandic Bar for dinner, based on a hotel employees recommendation for good, home cooking. We tried foods we never thought we would ever try. The atmosphere is great, as well as the food and service. It was expensive, compared to NY standards, but hey, you're in Iceland. We enjoyed so much, we went back the next day at lunch.

They have a specialty of the chef, every plate served has 3 main courses and 3 appetizers. It varies in food tastings every time it is served. You don't know what you will get. On that plate we had eel, lamb tartare and something else as the apps. The meal we had whale, horse and cod. Each item was very tasty. We also tried the reindeer burger and puffin.

If you go, just enjoy! Don't be intimidated by the foods.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Icelandic Bar (Islenski Barinn) also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icelandic Bar (Islenski Barinn), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.