We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but Small, dirty and loud.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Central Apartments

Save Saved
You added Central Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Apartments
Austurstrti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location but Small, dirty and loud.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in the budget apartment #4. The room is very, very small and not very well maintained. The kitchen and bathroom sinks were dirty and the shower drain was clogged and there was standing water on the floor so we were unable to use the shower our first night. When we called the owner in the morning he came right away to fix it. (the nice owner and good location are the biggest pluses)
There were also a lot of exposed wires on the light fixtures and when we unplugged the tv to charge our computer, the wires for the tv had been stripped and plugged right into the outlet along with what I think was a cable box.
The room had a little frig which never got very cold but at least we had a place to store cream for coffee etc. It was the first place that we stayed in Iceland which had a hair dryer. It might have been left there by a previous guest but it was still nice to find it there.
The location is great if you're a heavy sleeper (which I am not). The room is right on a square that is full of skateboarders and partiers until the wee hours of the morning. (even on Sunday and Monday nights) As soon as the partiers left the square the garbage trucks and street cleaners arrived. We got possibly the worst two nights of sleep that we have ever had.
It is a good value for the location but if you decide to stay there don't get the budget room. Get a room that doesn't face the street. And bring your own towel.

Room Tip: Don't get the budget room. Spend a few extra bucks and get one of the bigger apts that don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a studio apartment right in the heart of Reykjavic- location (during the quietness of the week) was superb. The apartment was clean and comfortable, with clean bedding and towels supplied. Kitchen utensils looked grubby (we cleaned them before we used anything) and were a mish-mash of items- I don't think you could have self catered here comfortably.

Check in was not clear- we booked this through Hotels.com and no information was given as to how we were to check in. On emailing them, I never had a reply- not good customer service. Having arrived early on a Sunday morning (10am), we phoned the number given to disturb the owner/manager from his sleep. However, we phoned him once we reached the apartment and he was with us in 15 mnutes and was polite and freindly.

Our apartment was badly in need of some time spent on it. We had a warm leaking fridge, a tempermental blind (kind of important during the Icelandic summer), plug sockets coming off the walls, too many cables across the floor and a shower door that kept rolling off it's sliders. We left them a note informing them of these problems as perhaps they hadn't been made aware fo them before?

Good location and okay for a few days during the week.

Room Tip: Visit during the week as would be very noisy at the weekend or take ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The apartment we had (1sr floor) was rather big especially compared with others on the same floor.
The building is really centrally located, in fact it could not be more central than that. The downside of this is that it's very noisy in the night, with people partying in the street! This was very annoying, although it may be different in the winter, when hopefully people are not so keen to be outdoor in the night.
The walls are also very thin so you can hear everything; being at the first floor it also meant lots of noise from the people above.

Bottom line I would not stay here if you plan to have a good night of sleep. BTW there are no proper curtains either, so if you need darkness to sleep, this is another point to consider.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed at Central Apartments last October. It wasn't super fancy, but it was clean and nice. The location was great. Almost everything in Reykjavik was within walking distance. I would highly recommend it. We met other travellers who paid more for their hotel and were further away from the centre of the city. People on the street below are loud and whoop it up late on Friday and Saturday night, but you should be out and about whooping it up if you're in Iceland on the weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed at the Central Apartments for five nights. My apartment was airy and spacious and quite nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen facilities were good. The bathroom in my apartment was a bit rundown and the lighting was really poor -- very, very dim. A cleaner came midway through my stay and gave the place a light going-over (not much attention was needed since I am a tidy person), which was nice.

The location is in the thick of things in the old city centre ... very convenient for seeing many of the sights of the city, and for practical stuff like grocery-shopping, etc., but it's pretty outrageously noisy on a Friday or Saturday night, when the streets teem from midnight til dawn with partyers. I was okay since I had earplugs with me, but without them, I doubt I would have slept on those nights. Weeknights, noise was not an issue.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you plan to stay here on a Friday or Saturday night. Also, don't shop at the K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had booked a studio but got upgraded to a bigger apartment which made our stay even more enjoyable. The apartment is brand new and the furniture was very modern. We had a queen bed and two twins and a kitchen area with a dining table and a couch. I was very pleased with the location. We also had rented a car and the hotel had a parking spot, which made it very easy. We were only in Iceland for the weekend and went on the Golden Circle tour on Satrurday. It was very convenient to park our car when we got to Reykjavik and be able to walk around that night and the next day and not be worried about the car until we had to leave for the airport. I read some reviews about the noise before we booked. We stayed there on a Saturday night and our apartment was on the 3rd floor with windows facing both streets (kitchen and bedroom). The windows are definitely in need of better soundproofing, but we had no problem sleeping. I think if you have had a day full of adventures, the noise is insignificant. Great price for the location! The hotel staff was also very courteous, our GPS led us to the incorrect location and he came and met us and guided us to the hotel. I will definitely stay at this hotel again if I am in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights with my mom in the apartment during our third trip to Reykjavik... we were in the loft apartment at the top floor. the check in went very well, we just called them from the airport and there was one person from the staff waiting for us to give us the keys, explain us some things about the apartments and to offer assistance if needed. The furniture and facilities of the apartment were great.

As said location is great, close to everything: bars, restaurants, attractions. The noise was not a big issue as we read before, but is understandable that could be for others. It had a very home feeling...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Apartments

Address: Austurstrti 3, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 Specialty lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Central Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Apartments Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.