We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little world away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Videy Island

Videy Island
Reykjavik, Iceland (Háaleiti)
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 151 things to do in Reykjavik
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Little world away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I loved the quiet peacefulness of the island. I visited on a cold, wet day but just rugged up and walked until I ran out of time. I could have spent a whole day on the island. Its feels isolated and quiet and you're in a world of your own. Very few people were about and I walked to my hearts content. The walking conditions were quite easy but the track was soggy from the rain and churned up from the horses so it was not a lovely clean walk. I stopped for a waffle and coffee at the restaurant. Decently priced and a lovely break from the cold.

I walked to the ferry from town. Waste of time. Catch a bus to the ferry and spend the time on the island.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are so happy that you liked Videy so much - we do to! Thank you for your kind words.

All the best from the Videy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    9
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“A little tough to bike around”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is an interesting place to visit if you have extra time and have seen everything in Reykjavik that you want to see. The ferry ride from the New Harbor is very short and very picturesque. If you want to rent bikes to tour this island be aware that there are only 4 of them. There may be some child sized bikes as well but only 4 adult sized bikes. They are in reasonably good condition . You rent them where you pay for the ferry but the bikes are on the island itself. Biking around is a little tough because the path kind of disappears without much warning in places.There are some hills and some gravelly parts.
I do suppose it is easier to see the entire island if you rent the bike however as opposed to walking it.

The island itself is pretty much completely barren with the exception of a restaurant, a school house, some remains of former houses, and one very odd little cottage at the Water tank on the southern tip. There is someone living there who has built a cottage and he is very friendly . He invited us in to see his home. After we left we wondered if he really existed or if he is one of the "hidden people".

At the opposite end of the island there are some interesting sculptures that encircle Vesturey, or the West Island. Very pretty little beach area as you head toward those Milestone sculptures as they are called.
Lots of birds to observe.

By the way do not look for the Yoko Ono Peace Tower if you go during the summer months. It is a tower of light that is only visible when it is dark and that never happens in the summertime with 24 daylight.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, General Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear BBE2,

Thank you very much for your comments. We're pretty sure that you ran across one of the "hidden people" because nobody lives on the island anymore ;-) Anything can happen!

Best regards,
The Videy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Horse riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We went to Viðey island for Viking horse riding tour, which was a combination tour with Blue Lagoon trip. We were picked up from the parking lot by the Iceland Excursions main office (close to harbor)by a very friendly gentleman. Short ride in the bus, then ferry and then wearrived in Viðey Island.
My mother had not been riding in many years, but she climbed on the horse, and enjoyed it very much. Such beautiful island, no traffic, no noise. Cafeteria was not open that time in the morning.
I loved the ride,even though it was rainy.
Waterproof and helmets are available, but bring your own gloves as it can be cold and there weren't many pairs of gloves available for loan. Horses were well looked after, and appeared happy. Staff were friendly and helpful, and this was a good ride for beginners too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, General Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear SatAtmaKaur,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are really happy that you had such a nice time riding the horses in Videy.

Best regards,
The Videy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“history and hiking five minutes by ferry from mainland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This small island is easily accessible. Above the ferry dock is a small building with a restaurant and bathrooms. I did not see any other tourist services available. From this center point, there are hiking trails in both directions. For the most part, the hiking is easy. We picked a day with 40 mph so had an entertaining time near the cliffs. As one walks along, there are ruins and signs explaining the history of this small island. The school house is still used for activities - there was a daycare group visiting while we were there. I found it fascinating to read about the lives of the families who lived there while supporting themselves by fishing. One of the old letters mentioned how fortunate the families were because there was work for children as young as six.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, General Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you had a nice time in Videy!

Best regards,
The Videy team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A great place for nature lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This unspoilt island is only a few minutes away from Reykjavik by ferry and is a great site for walking, cycling and watching the large variety of birds which live there. In addition there is horse riding at various times of the year and the eastern end of the island has some interesting historical sites from the island's time as a port and processing plant. We weren't aware of any of the industrial history before we arrived on the island and found the descriptive plaques interesting and informative. If you've ever stayed on Lundy Island in the UK you'll immediately see the similarities.

We went there primarily for the nature and birds and spent a good half day just walking and looking around. Despite spending that length of time we still covered less than half the island and didn't even get to see the Peace Tower. The more you look, the more you will see.

Normally the ferry leaves from the new harbour but there is one ferry a day at noon from the old harbour which is more convenient for most visitors staying near the old town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Videy, Manager at Videy Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Nick M,

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to share this with us. We are really happy that you had such a good day in Videy.

All the best to you from the team at Videy Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Videy Island also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Videy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Videy Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.