We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see online is not what you get - beware” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Heida's Home Center

Save Saved
You added Heida's Home Center to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heida's Home Center
Hverfisgata 102, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 103 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What you see online is not what you get - beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was really disappointed by Heidas home. When we arrived we thought we had gotten the address wrong, the outside is run down and cracked. The pictures online really miss-sell the place and we were sharing a bathroom the size of a closet with 10 or so people. The kitchen can squeeze 4 people in but it is awkward. There was no one there to greet us so we were unsure how to get in and which room was ours. The water stinks in the bathroom so be prepared to smell like an egg :( . Very noisy and people who were arriving at all hours were buzzing on the door as I said - no one there to greet them. It is central but not on the nicest street, quite derelict. A couple of minutes from shops and sights so that is good. If we were paying pennies for this place you would shrug some of these niggles away but it was not cheap at all.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back or don't come here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days. First - the location is pretty good, very central. There is plenty of parking on the street. The rooms are on two floors - four each per floor. Two rooms face the very noisy road, two are on the back. I was in one on the back - and thank heaven I was first super happy about that. However, despite no traffic noise you will hear all your neighbours all the time as the back rooms are adjacent to the kitchen. Additionally my room was next to the bathroom - so not only did I have the awful sulphur smell of the hot water in my room but also all the noise. Forget about sleeping - just the locking of the bathroom door will knock you out of your sleep.

Kitchen was fine and clean with all the necessary things you might need.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back, the one away from the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Heida's Home is a great place to stay if you're looking for great value in Reykjavik, as well as a comfortable place to relax just as if it were your own home. Heida herself is super friendly and lovely as well! The price for a double room was much cheaper than in the hostels in the city, so do yourself a favour (especially if you're a couple) and stay here instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of our Iceland trip in a double room paying £58 with shared bathroom and kitchen.

The location of the guesthouse is really good, located opposite to the sea wall which is a pleasant walk and within five minutes walking distance to the bars/restaurants and main shopping strip (including small bonus supermarket for supplies) and around a twenty minute walk to harbour area. We originally found it hard to locate the guesthouse in a hire car as it’s quite hard to spot but once you have your bearings it is easy to navigate in/out of Reykjavik. The only downside is there is no parking for the guesthouse but there is a public car park close by which is free in the evenings (charges apply during the day).

The lady that welcomed us was very friendly; the room itself was quite small but decorated with very nice furnishings, spotlessly clean throughout and free reliable Wi-Fi. The bathroom was compact but very clean and we didn’t have to wait to use the facilities. As we were in the room next to the bathroom we were woken in the early hours by loud guests taking showers after a night out. However, there is no noise from the street or road and the area is very quiet.

Overall, I’d definitely consider staying here again as the rooms were very appealing, I’d just ask for a room away from the bathroom next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here a week and was very pleased. Big, bright rooms. Well maintained shared facilities. The street is a quiet one, which runs parallel between the main street and the coast so is in a better location that a lot of the big hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heida's Home Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heida's Home Center

Address: Hverfisgata 102, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heida's Home Center has four renovated double rooms with common self catering kitchen and facilities. The guesthouse is located on Hverfisgata 102 in the heart of Reykjavik, next to Laugavegur, the city´s main shopping street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Heida's Home Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heida's Home Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.