We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop in for a drink and watch the world pass by” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svarta Kaffi

Svarta Kaffi
Laugavegi 54 | 101, Reykjavik, Iceland
003545512999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Café, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Great Soup restaurant in the heart of Reykjavic shopping area, where you get soup in bread (instead of a bowl) fantastic place!
Newton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
311 helpful votes 311 helpful votes
“Stop in for a drink and watch the world pass by”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A real nice place to stop and have a drink and maybe grab a bite to eat. I only had a drink there, but the place was loaded with locals which is always a good sign. The place is small, but in a cozy way. Worth a stop while taking in the sights on Laugavegi.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    147
    29
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Souperb!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Billed as serving "the best soup in Reykjavik" and although my girlfriend and I didn't sample every soup in the city we can definitely believe it's true! We arrived on Ascension day (bank holiday) which would explain why the place wasn't bustling with customers but the service was excellent, the soup served in bread was delicious and when the bill arrived it was a bargain! Recommended for those cold days when comfort food is a must!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangoon, Burma
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Darn close to excellent....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great little place - food is VERY good and very reasonably priced. Once you start talking to the workers, they can be quite friendly, but initially they are very cold. But I guess that's fitting up here - as most of the customers also seem very unfriendly! Just where DID Americans' get this reputation? Anyway - the soup was pretty darn good, sandwich and salad was better than expected and egils Gulls beer was right up in the excellent range. I will probably go back here - just a very comfy place to sit and watch the main street - and the restroom is on their facebook page - as it should be! Very clean. When you're walking the main street take the few steps up for a quick drink - even the hot chocolate was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tasty soup and a good spot to people watch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very popular little cafe on one of the main shopping streets in Reykjavik. The first time we went we just had drinks but we were amazed at how many people were eating soup in bread. We went back the next day and had spicy vegetable and meat soup which was delicious. I can't remember exactly how much it cost but I don't think it was too expensive. If you get a window table it is a great spot to just watch the world go by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Awesome soup and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

A real winner with our family. The soup served in beautiful freshly baked bread was filling and tasty for our family of non meat eaters. Good value and filled us up well. 1550 ISK for the soup in a large bread roll. We ate here twice having Asian Vegetable soup one meal and Cauliflower and Vegetable Soup on the second. Even my nine ýear old daughter who never eats anything if its not sweets gobbled the soup and bread up. We will return on our next visit to Reykjavik and can recommend to anyone else.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svarta Kaffi also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Svarta Kaffi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svarta Kaffi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.