We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soup in a bread bowl! Warming and fun on a cold night.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Svarta Kaffi

Svarta Kaffi
Laugavegi 54 | 101, Reykjavik, Iceland
003545512999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $8 - $18
Cuisines: Bar, Café, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Great Soup restaurant in the heart of Reykjavic shopping area, where you get soup in bread (instead of a bowl) fantastic place!
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Soup in a bread bowl! Warming and fun on a cold night.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We'd heard about the soup bowls made of bread so decided to try here on a cold evening before going out on a Northern Lights tour. Son had a meat soup and I had a vegetable soup served in the hearty bread bowls! The soup was quite tasty and it was a bit of fun to eat the bowl as well. The two young waiters were welcoming and friendly. If soup isnt for you there was quite a large menu of burgers, wraps, salads etc. They sold a range of drinks including an excellent selection of teas which is quite unusual and all food and drink seemed very reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    147
    29
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Heard about this restuarant from a friend who visited last year. Just so happened we stumbled upon this place and thought we would try it. Just went in for a snack so tried the bread in soup. It was really tasty food and rather unusual. The best bit was is wasn't as expensive as alot of other places in Raykjavik. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant - Cafe - Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

DON'T MISS THIS PLACE! . . . . A great place for a light meal . . . . . . or just coffee and pasteries . . . . . or to enjoy a good local beer.

Located on the main shopping street on the second floor with windows on 3 sides, you can watch the people walk past as you enjoy your meal and/or drink. I visited this restaurant twice on my 5 day visit to Iceland. Both times, I had taken tours that returned me to my hotel a few blocks down the street . . . . The Hotel Fron . . . . . after 8:30 pm which gave me limited choices for dinner. . . . . and it was too late for a heavy meal. They stop serving meals after around 9:30 p.m. but they offer two kinds of soup made of meat or fish until they close. The soup is delicious and served in a very large bread bowl which you can also enjoy eating. I did! . . . . . Plus they serve a great Icelandic draft beer.

Service was very good and prices are quite reasonable.

If I'm ever back in Iceland, I'll go there again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HokieMKB
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and good memories!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The menu at Svarta Kaffi is limited, but that doesn't mean you'll be disappointed with the choices! Our group chose the soup in bread bowls because we wanted the combination of cheap-ish and filling. We were VERY happy with that decision. They even gave the toddler with us her soup for free! The only downside is that seating is very limited, so go at an off-time if you can.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice gimmick and good atmophere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Everything was fine here, but much better places exist. Prices are cheekily high, and the soup seemed to us to be suspiciously close to canned Heinz soup...served in a bread bowl. Could be better.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svarta Kaffi also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Svarta Kaffi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Svarta Kaffi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.