We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Borgartun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Borgartun to your Saves list
Guesthouse Borgartun
Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have just had another enjoyable & relaxing stay at Guesthouse Borgartun in Reykjavik. It is an ideal base whatever your activity. Rooms are well maintained & very clean with en suite & tv + radio alarm. Breakfast is varied & plentiful with endless coffee. The manager is very kind & pleasant. She assisted me greatly. If you are looking for 5 star aloofness then do not stay here. If, on the other hand you want good, clean honest accommodation @ a very very reasonable cost, then Guesthouse Borgartun is most definitely worth a stay.
This was my second stay & I like it so much I am returning in March.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    35
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
21
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When I looked for hotels in Reykjavik I noticed that they were not cheap... This one was not too expensive (we payed 110 euros for twin for one night) and it had free parking space, free wi-fi and it included good breakfast.

Rooms were clean and it took us some 20 minutes to walk into downtown of Reykjavik. There is a small supermarket and wine store (wine is not sold on supermarkets, we noticed) just couple of minutes away from Guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I write this review because the previous comments were deciding factors for us to stay at this hotel. Clean, quiet place, especially if you get the room facing the other buildings. On our second stay we got the somewhat noisier room facing the road and farther the ocean. On the second arrival we got to the place after midnight. The taxi driver had to be helped out as to the location.
The room is heated, good beds, simple. The breakfast was a good average one. Service - helpful.The price is reasonable so I recommend this hotel if you are budget conscious.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The rooms are located on the upper floors of a drab office building, approximately a 25 minute walk from the center of town. The wifi did not always work in the room, but the signal was fine in the dining area. Rooms have antiquated electrical outlets which, according to what I was told, were standard in the 1970s. Today you need an adapter (provided by the manager) to convert to standard Icelandic/European outlets.

But these were the only negatives, which were more than overcome by the plain, but clean and comfortable rooms, the friendly and helpful manager (and her husband), the nice breakfast and the reasonable price.

Even the non-central location had its advantages. The facility is within walking distance of Laugardalslaug, the best of the local geothermal swimming and recreational complexes. You are also within walking distance of the Brasserie Askur, a well-reviewed restaurant with an excellent Sunday buffet. All the tour buses pick up at this hotel and there is public transit to downtown if it is too long a walk.

It was good value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
585 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,448 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

One of the better guesthouses in Reykjavik, when you get past the fact that it is an office block and tourist agency. 24 hr service which is great and leaving at 3.45 the night manager had prepared a full breakfast for 3am - most welcoming. But lots of guests arrive and leave throughout the night so it can become quite noisy, the lift is also very small and quite scary as it appears very old and was reluctant to use it in the small hours in case it broke down which meant 4 flights of stairs with luggage which isnt great hen trying to be quiet. The rooms are small and basic, but do have small en-suite facilities. A pleasant 25 minute walk to the city centre which is better done via the harbour that through the commercial district. Room are very warm and opening the window allows horrendous traffic noise which continues throughout the night so difficult to chose whether to be too hot or too noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is located 20 min outside downtown Reykjavik. It´s clean, functional and has friendly staff but offers nothing extra. The rooms are small and is located in an uninspiring building. The guesthouse is a bit hard to find since it has no sign with it´s name on. It is in a building on the corner of Borgartun street and the main road in to Reykjavik on the 3rd floor in the same building as a travel agency.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We gave the owner/manager notice that we will be arriving at 0200H and she waited for us. Very basic clean room with private bath/shower. We rented a car so we had no problems going back/forth around city center and Reykjavik. Good breakfast selection from 0800-1000H. We checked out at 0400H and they prepared breakfast to go. Highly recommended for those who are looking for clean, budget hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#43 of 52 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Lind
#29 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Reykjavik Lights
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#32 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Borgartun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borgartun

Address: Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guðmundur Jonasson’s headquarters at Borgartun in Reykjavik house not only our main travel office and fleet of vehicles, but also a good standard 22 room Guest House – all comfortable bedrooms are en-suite and have a colour TV. There is also a breakfast room and lounge with internet access and it is only a short walk to the main swimming pool and close to a good selection of restaurants. Reykjavik City Centre is within easy reach, either by foot or by local bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Borgartun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgartun Guest House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Borgartun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.