We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Borgartun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Guesthouse Borgartun to your Saves list
Guesthouse Borgartun
Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 102 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of an organised tour. The room was a decent size for us both and clean and comfortable. The shower was great (apart from the eggy sulphur smell but you get used to that!!) with shampoo, soap etc provided. Don't wear silver jewellery in the shower though as it taints it. The cold water is fine though and can be drunk.
The management were really friendly and helped by booking taxis etc. for us.
The breakfast was pretty decent - good selection of cold meats and cheeses, cereals and breads.
The only negative thing about this place is how far it is from the centre of town. It rained constantly when we were there so we relied on taxis (which cost about ISK 2700 (£13) each way). I imagine if the weather is nice, it'd be totally different with great views over the sea and mountains - apparently the sunsets are amazing from here- and a pleasant 20-30 minute stroll into town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    27
    14
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
12
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Generally clean throughout the guest house. appears to have good security arrangements. There's a small lift serving to the top floors.
Owners happy to serve breakfast earlier when requested for.

Location : situated by main roads and rooms facing the main road can be noisy ,however, you get a view of the sea and amazing sunsets and sunrises. Rooms at the back are quieter but the view is of a concrete jungle /boring buildings... so, take your pick.
There's a supermarket close by and a reasonably priced restraurant in the Hotel Cabin next door. They do a great value evening buffet for about £8.
A bit of a walk into town but I didn't mind that . However, there's something to be said about staying centrally as the atmosphere is great in Reykajvik day or night.

Rooms: spacious for one person but a little cramped for two. One of the beds is jammed up to the radiator which could be uncomfortable for someone.
There's adequate storage and hanging space. There's a TV that is perched a little way up high and you''ll need to lie down in bed to see the screen properly, otherwise you just might end up with a crick in your neck .
Ensuite rooms, bath and face towels, soap supplied. Good strong shower.
The water in the taps do smell of sulphur and takes a bit of getting used to but then you'd expect that as Iceland's households tap into their natural suphurous thermal water supplies. My friend drank the water and survives to this day but I couldn't handle the smell so I stuck with odour-free bottled water :)
The rooms are warm, bed very comfortable.

The wiring and plug socket arrangements in my room was a bit dodgy, temperamental as the bedside lamp kept going out with the slightest of movement when trying to plug in my charger. There was only one plug point at floor level and had a three socket extension lead attached.. However, it was behind the bed and too short to be brought forward so had to lean over awkwardly behind the bed every night trying to manage the plugging in and out which in turn affected the bedside light.
The other plug point was too high up on the wall to be reasonably accessible ! Not sure why it was placed so high up..at least 7-8 feet from floor level.

Breakfast : was ok, nothing extraordinary. Soya milk available.
Cereals, bread, pastries, fruit. juices , eggs, salted fish, various processed meat slices, cheese and jams
Take note of the old pictures on the dining room wall- interesting to see how some of the glaciers and landscapes have changed/disappeared over time due to weather and geological shifts.
Some of the seating in the breakfast room was too tightly spaced and a bit irritaing to be hemmed in and can't push chair back .

Computer : it's available in the sitting room but very slooow. No free Wifi :( In fact it's quite limited elsewhere in Reykajvik too !)
PC not readily advertised and password only if asked for.
There's a coffee/tea/chocolate drinks machine on the second floor but there's a charge - I think it costed about £2.50- too exorbitant I think .
Overall impression : clean, basic, and comfortable - no major niggles.

Room Tip: Comfy shoes to ensure a comfy long walk into town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I enjoyed the breakfast, the room was clean and had everything I need from a hotel room. The location was a little bit too far out of town. If I was staying for one to two nights I wouldn't mind the walk in to town as the scenery is lovely, but after walking several times it gets a bit waring.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This place is great. I actaully checked out of the Hotel Cabin (which is next door) to stay here again. The rooms are bigger and cleaner than the Cabin, and the bathrooms are nicer. They provide a great breakfast, bar soap, face cloths, towels, and extra pillows.

Plus - the bathrooms do have a hairdryer (unlike Hotel Cabin).

I reccomend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

We arrived by the Flybus at nearly 3AM, buzzed and were immediately let in and welcomed by the pleasant Guesthouse Manager. We stayed 4 nights in total. The breakfast spread was lovely and authentically Icelandic. Copious amounts of coffee, breads, meats, fish, hard-boiled eggs and not to mention an amazing tomato jam spread nourished us every morning before sightseeing. We had an early morning departure and a special breakfast was left for us, which we were not expecting and were so grateful for. The reviews are correct- the Guesthouse is about a 20 minute walk into the city and the hostel is just around the corner (farther from the city center). The walk didn't bother us as it was a gorgeous one- walking along the seaside pathway, looking out into the distant mountains or, on the other side, Hallgrímskirkja, which was our favorite point of reference in Reykjavík. We would definitely stay again, based on the excellent service, price, and cleanliness. In regards to the location- my tip would be to splurge and book in the 101 (city center) during a night that you go out, and spend the rest of your nights at Borgartun. Another tip: As we did so many excursions/sightseeing our first few days, we didn't have time to have a hot, sit down meal one of the nights we got back to the Guesthouse. We didn't want to make the trek into the center to find food, but found a 10 11 store nearby (they are open 24 hours). The clerk let us use the microwave and we dined on tv dinners and chatted with locals. Great experience. Anyway, Iceland is an amazing place, and you will not be disappointed with Borgartun if you need basic, affordable accommodations. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

nothing fancy but relatively cheap for an icelandic hotel.
breakfast was good
rooms were big and comfortable
if you don't expect room service or marble floors then this is your hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

I stayed at the Bogartun guesthouse for two separate nights in June. The accomodation covers the top two floors of the building and there is a lift. As well as the usual facilities in my room, I noticed a hairdryer and a television set - with, unexpectedly, an English Channel, BBC 1. Everything was very clean .there was hot water at all hours, and the room was much warmer than I had expected.
I was surprised to see that the large window had only lightweight curtains and no blackout linings to darken the room in summer and insulate it in winter - I later found that this is normal in Iceland - but I had no difficulty in getting to sleep and slept soundly.
The buffet breakfast spread was varied and excellent - I particularly appreciated the good coffee and selection of breads - making a good start to a busy day of sightseeing.
The only drawback was the location - too far from the city centre for my liking, I found the walk , past uninspiring buildings, a real trudge. There is, however, a bus stop just around the corner from the Bogartun - which I did not notice until it was too late to be of any practical use.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Borgartun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Borgartun

Address: Borgartun 34, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guðmundur Jonasson’s headquarters at Borgartun in Reykjavik house not only our main travel office and fleet of vehicles, but also a good standard 22 room Guest House – all comfortable bedrooms are en-suite and have a colour TV. There is also a breakfast room and lounge with internet access and it is only a short walk to the main swimming pool and close to a good selection of restaurants. Reykjavik City Centre is within easy reach, either by foot or by local bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Guesthouse Borgartun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgartun Guest House Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Borgartun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.