We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant tour & great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Shore Adventure

South Shore Adventure
BSI Bus Terminal | Vatnsmyrarvegi 1, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Háaleiti)
+354 580 5400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 257 Activities in Reykjavik
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This tour is ideal for nature lovers of all kinds. You will have an opportunity to stand behind the plummeting Seljalandsfoss waterfall, walk up to the skógarfoss waterfall and gaze at the formations.We travel along the South coast of Iceland as far as Vík í Mýrdal a small charming village surrounded by beautiful high bird cliffs.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant tour & great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We took the south shore adventure through Reykjavik Excusrions. It was a great day out with my husband and I clambering over (and under!) a glacier, seeing numerous volcanoes and lava fields, seeing spectacular waterfalls and even walked behind one of them. The folk museum was brilliant and the guides were all amazing. We saw staggering stone formations, huge waves and walked along the beach. It was a great day out and highly recommend it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    4
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

For me this was the best trip I had in Iceland. Amazing landscape. I was walking on glacier, seen black sandy beach near Vik, beautiful waterfalls, tried icelandic national lamb soup. If you will be in Iceland just few days book this tour!
Take waterproof jacket and/or shoes.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superjeep tour Eyjafjallajokull and Thorsmork Canyon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

To drive up a glacier and see the smoke coming out of the crater and clouds hanging underneath was a fantastic experience that we will not easily forget. We went out with a guide and superjeep from South Iceland Adventure with the family for the day and because conditions looked promising we could go up the volcano and enjoy the stunning scenery. We chose to go by jeep since we would not be able to hike long disctances with a six year old. The guide was very knowledgable about the surroundings and showed us also some wonderful sights in the nearly Thormork Canyon. The fact he organised pancakes at a hiking cabin for our girls was absolutely the icing on the cake for them. I can recommend anyone to go out on a tour with these guides if you like to enjoy the beautiful surroundings and learn one or two things about the history and geology of the place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This should be required of all visitors.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Gateway to Iceland was our choice for this tour and it was a good choice. Small groups are the way to go. Our tour guide had lived in the States and was as flawlessly fluent in English as he was informative and gracious. The only recommendation I can make is to change the approach regarding the stop for the volcano film. Either set the price for the tour to include the 20 minute film or skip it altogether. You always have trouble getting 10 to 20 people to agree on anything and it wastes time that could be spent somewhere else.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“IG Tours South Shore tour Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Recently taken this tour Feb 25th 2012 what a lovely tour it was. Longish day that was so enjoyable. We started mid morning saw two great waterfalls Skogaafoss and Seljalandsfoss also the stunning beach which is Vik from three spots we also saw the foots of the Myrdalslsjokull glacier. Iceland has recently had a lot of snow which made the scenery even more fab. .Small personal tour about fifteen of us with a tour guide named Arthur who was excellent five stars to him. I really liked this tour group IG Tours much nicer then eighty on a bus. Anthony B

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Shore Adventure also viewed

 
 

Been to South Shore Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Shore Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.