We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding cuisine, excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of VOX Restaurant

VOX Restaurant
Suourlandsbraut 2, Reykjavik 108, Iceland (Háaleiti)
+354 444 5050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Háaleiti
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“outstanding cuisine, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Unique! one of the best, most memorable meals I've ever had! Ok, its a bit pricey, but this was an experience. The celery foam was just unbelievable. This was an exemplary case of new Nordic cuisine.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    84
    30
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We arrived at Reykjavik late in the afternoon, didn't feel like going out for dinner and wandered into Vox because it was in our hotel. It turned out to be a great dining experience. The staff was friendly and attentive. My sunchoke-asparagus appetizer highlighted Iceland's outstanding produce and was wonderfully prepared. The fish entree was also terrific. Incidentals like bread, coffee and butter were carefully chosen and excellent. My only minor complaint was more stylistic than substantive-the desserts were a bit on the new age side for my taste (meaning nothing contained chocolate). Even so, they were tasty and nicely crafted. Overall, this restaurant is on par with some of the better restaurants we've been to in the U.S., Europe and Asia. And, as an added plus, they have an outstanding lunch buffet that is also exceptionally well priced (at least as of this writing).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food excellent.....service very slow...pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Was staying in hotel ....pricy small portions but food is superb. Nice atmosphere with fireplace . Service slow and waiter didn't write down wine order and them had to ask us again what we ordered. I had Nordic tapas as wasn't too hungry...very flavorful but 3 tiny pieces. Friend had seafood soup and it was Devine. Breakfast not included in all hotel rooms.... Be prepared...but good selection only if you go after 7 am before then not everything had been put out yet

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Modern and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Best lobster/seafood soup that I had on my trip. Absolute best by far. The food, wine, and service were excellent. The atmosphere was very chic!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend brunch! My top place in Iceland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Although we were not staying at Hilton Nordica, we decided to go to their Vox restaurant for Sunday brunch. And this was the culinary highligh of our trip to Iceland. Fantastic choice of sweet treats and real meals ( starting from blueberry cheesecake, grilled marshmallows, white chocolate fountain, merengue, creme brule, and ending with a lamb rack) . THE LOBSTER SOUP TO KILL FOR! Everything really tasty and fine. And all that for 23 EUR only...I thought I won a lotto ticket ;D

The next time I go Rejkyavik I'll go straight to Vox. I won't even bother looking for another place for the Sunday brunch.

A tip: don't forget to book it a day earlier and arrive at 11:30, when the brunch starts.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VOX Restaurant also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to VOX Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VOX Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.