We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious veggie friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kryddlegin hjortu

Kryddlegin hjortu
Hverfisgata 33 | Reykjavik, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
+354 588 8818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Description: Hello, we have something for everybody, we have our famous Soup and Salad Buffet. Now our Menu has grown. Now we have Mexican Fajitas , Feta Pesto chicken breast, Amazing Fish Dishes and our gourme Lasagne Veggie or Beef. Our Chicken is Free range from Isfugl. Our food is made love and healing. Our Saladbar is unlike anything, we have a great selection and always 4 soups 2 Vegetarian and 2 Chicken soups and on Thursdays we have our famous Lamb Soup. Our location on Skulagata closes at 3 o'clock and closed at weekends. Hverfisgata is open Mon-Tuesd-Wedn from 11:30 - 21:00 and at Thurs-Frid-Saturd 11:30 to 23:00 and Sundays 17:00-22:00.
Liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious veggie friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Ate here on 14th feb. I'm a veggie and found it hard to eat in Reykjavik but this place was great. There were four soup choices (two were meat) and a salad buffet which sounds boring but it wasn't it was delicious with plenty I choice.

The bread is fresh and warm and amazing and the home made humous was delicious too but I'm warning its spicy!

Staff were friendly. Please note you can get a glass of water free you help yourself to the water from the jugs on the side basically in every food place otherwise the drinks to buy are expensive.

The buffet was about 1790 korona so around £9 per person.

Any questions just ask!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    52
    13
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great value, great soups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

go hungry and take the buffet option. great filling soups, fresh baked bread and salad bar. its near kex hostel just off the bay.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Very good salads and soups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Visited on 24/01 for lunch. Very friendly and welcoming service. Some tables offer great views (sea and snow capped mountain range).
Cheap (1995 ICK) for buffet salad and soups. 4 soups (2 vegeterian) and salads. The salads are very good, I am quite particular when it comes to vegetables as this is my main diet and the salads here definitely hit the spot!
Free jugs of tap water too.
Reykjavik is quite pricey for eating out; this place offers good value without compromising on the quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Delicious soups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We ate here one lunchtime and thought that the food and atmosphere was very good. We managed to arrive in time for the lunchtime special which was a choice of 4 soups, salad bar, homemade bread with a garlic/spicy butter and hummus for around £7-8. All of the soups were delicious and filling. The waiting staff were very friendly. The decor was much nicer on the inside than you would expect looking at the outside, and the view out to the sea was nice. This isn't a fine dining experience but taking into account the quality of the food and the good value we would highly recommend this restaurant for a hearty and filling lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Great dishes, friendly staff, good prices. Clean and tidy, home made bread, with their garlic butter and hummus was delicious! Highly recommend :-)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kryddlegin hjortu also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Kryddlegin hjortu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kryddlegin hjortu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.