We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and homely” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kalli's Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalli's Apartments to your Saves list
Kalli's Apartments
Storholt 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cosy and homely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The good: Apartments are clean and equipped with a kitchen and refrigerator. Bathrooms are clean and towels are provided. There is also free wifi and travel guides placed on the table for easy reference. Host is friendly as well.

The not so good: The reason why i gave a 3 star instead of a 4 will be that:
1. There is no lift in this apartment. If you are allocated to the 4th floor and you happen to have lots of luggage like us, be prepared to bring the luggage up to the 4th floor yourself.

2. No shampoos or body wash in the bathroom. Well, we had 2 rooms. One of the rooms have it, the other don't. So we are not sure if this is provided.

3. Location is at the edge of downtown Reykjavik. Of course, the price justifies its location.

Overall, a short stay is fine. And if you prefer somewhere quiet and homely, this is the place for you. Tip: try to ask for the 2nd floor if you are travelling with kids and have lots of luggage. :)

Do visit my blog for pictures of the room.
http://keeewei.blogspot.sg/2014/11/iceland-2014-part-1.html

Room Tip: Request for lower floors if you have heavy luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
33
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We stayed at Kalli's apartments from the 24th August to the 29th August 2014. Our flight was late in on the Sunday evening and we were able to get an airport bus directly from the airport to the bus station. From here, Systa very kindly picked us up from the bus station (even though it was after midnight!). She was friendly and informative and talked us through the local amenities and where to find everything. She also explained how to work everything in the apartment. This was a great help!

The apartment is quaint and fully functional. It was perfect for us and had everything we needed. Systa even left us a bottle of prosecco for our wedding - this was very thoughtful!

The apartment is in a fantastic location, just a short walk to the main shopping street in a very quiet location. Our stay was fantastic and was made even better by Systa! Our flight home was not leaving until after 10.30pm and we asked if we could leave our bags safely for the day - Systa went the extra mile and let us have the apartment for a full day, as there was no one staying that evening. We were able to stay as long as we wanted which meant we didn't have to worry about our luggage - this was a big help and we were very thankful! I would certainly recommend Kalli's Apartments. We stayed in apartment 4 and this was ideal. Thank you Systa!

Room Tip: Apartment 4 ideal for couple - comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at Kalli's apartments for a week long family holiday in July. I would definitely recommend staying here - the location is great, in a quiet residential area, but a very short walk from the main shopping and tourist areas of the city centre. The apartment was very well equipped, with everything we needed to do a few simple meals at home when you can't be bothered to hike out for another restaurant meal. But it was also homely, with some interesting pictures and decorations, which reflects the owners' tastes and attention to detail. Maybe not the place for very young children, but with our older teenagers, or as a couple, it was a brilliant place to base ourselves. The owner, Systa, was unfailingly helpful with our enquiries. Thoroughly recommend it - we had a great time there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We spent a week in Apartment 1. It was very clean, nicely furnished and decorated. It had very confortable beds, a perfect bathroom and a very well equipped kitchen. It was very well located, close to downtown but in a quiet neighborhood. We felt ourselves at home. A special comment about our host, Systa, who was extremely kind. She picked up us at the bus station and took us to the apartment, although it was 3 A.M. She advised us about what to do and was always ready to help us. Kalli´s apartments are highly suitable for a great stay in Reykjavic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile


Excellent location and walking distance to Reykjavik. Well stocked kitchen, quiet street, comfy bed, excellent shower. We stayed in apartment two, which is at the top of the building. It was basically decorated but clean and provided everything we needed for a base in Reykjavik. If I were to return to Iceland I would stay here again but would spend a bit extra and stay in one of the other apartments in the building which are bigger and more stylishly decorated. On the whole this provided everything we wanted.

There is also parking available. If your considering hiring a car but aren't sure - DO IT. Icelandic roads aren't busy and there is so much to see outside the city you find yourself spending a lot of time on tour buses.

Minor issues with our apartment (flat 2):
- the curtains do not fit the windows at all. And since it's light 20hours a day that was a pain.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at Kalli's Apartment over new year. The apartment is tastefully furnished, with settees, dining table, plenty of storage and a very comfortable double bed. The kitchenette is well- equipped and there is a small but entirely functional shower room (no issue about hot water!). Although it was in essence one large room, the clever layout meant it didn't feel crowded. It was also warm (important in mid-winter) and spotlessly clean. Also has WiFi (and TV).
A mere short walk away, we were close enough to the city centre bars and restaurants, but far enough from the noise. Booked excursions with some picking up directly from the apartment, with others picking up at a hotel literally around the corner.
The owner Systa (and her husband) picked us up from the bus station to take us to the apartment. They were extraordinarily helpful and welcoming and spoke excellent English - as do most Icelanders. Great tip from Systa's son, check out northern lights activity on the web and if its a clear night, head to the top of the hill near the apartment, you may very well be amazed.
Great apartment, great holiday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Whether you are traveling or not, it's always fantastic to find your lodging to be better than you had hoped. Not only are Kalli's apartments perfectly located, well equipped and tastefully decorated, but Systa (a wonderful artist) and her husband are truly the best hosts.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalli's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalli's Apartments

Address: Storholt 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalli's apartments are located in a quiet street in the center of Reykjavik, only a few minutes walk from the Municipal Art Gallery, the main shopping street, the bus terminal and the National Theater. There are a number of restaurants, bars and supermarkets within walking distance. There is wireless Internet access. The apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalli's Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalli's Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.