We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalli's Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalli's Apartments to your Saves list
Kalli's Apartments
Storholt 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We (five Celts ) spent a week in this wonderful country and in two of the splendid Kalli's Appartments.

The appartments are wonderfully comfortable, well laid out with all amenities you might need, not to mention some stunning art work, by our charming and charismatic hostess and owner Systa.

The location is perfect; a five minute walk from the City centre, but quite and accessible. Systa collected us from the airport bus (which offers a regular and good value service to the central bus station) and even though we arrived late, gave us her full attention until we had settled in.

Our visit was enhanced by her excellent advice on where to go, what to see and how to get there. She and her equally kind husband Thordor, where wonderful to us during our stay and also spoke better English than we Celts. I cannot recommend staying at Kalli's to highly.

Room Tip: As far as we could see all are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
35
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here in September2013 and it was a great location and lovely accommodation. Systa was so helpful in picking us up and guiding us in- thank-you! The apartment is well located for a supermarket, the bus to local baths, an amazing vinyl record store, a guerrilla garden in the car-park across the road and of course a walk along the wonderful Laugavegur. Highly recommended if you want comfy beds and peace and quiet. Keith and Dawn Edinburgh

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Kallisapartments is one of the best choice for who wants to have a nice stay in Reykjavik.
The location is close to Laugavegur, in the city center. Rooms have all the facilities you need: private bathroom, kitchen corner, comfortable bed, very nice furnishing.
Systa is simply amazing, kind and likeable. She picks up her guests from BSI, the Bus terminal in Reykjavik. This is very usefull for who doesnt know how to reach the apartments.
We will always have a good memory of our vacation, thanks to Systa too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked this last minute and were looking for something cheap and cheerful. Kalli's seemed to fit the bill and the reviews were fantastic, so we went for it. As soon as we booked we had a friendly email from Systa, which surprised us as it was after midnight. She offered to pick us up from the airport bus, which seemed like excellent service. On arrival the experience didn't disappoint. Systa is kind, friendly and fun, and gave us some invaluable advice about where to eat and shop, and which excursions to choose. She also told us some great anecdotes about her family and the area, and talked us through the fantastic artwork in the flat, much of which is by Systa herself. As for the apartment, it was spacious, comfortable and clean, and perfectly located for exploring the city: in a tourist-free corner but just on the edge of the main centre and near to the sea. There's a great Thai restaurant very close by as well, which Systa pointed us towards. Also ask her about her son's riding stables: we went there one evening and had a really fun ride out on some lovely horses, with an authentic Icelandic picnic halfway round! In the four days we stayed here it became home and we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Top service from Systa and her husband
Very close to everywhere - walking distance from the main street, supermarket and good restaurants.
No noise during night - excellent sleep.
Good kitchen and nice rooms and a lot of books for reading or changing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at these apartments in July of this year. Systa was fantastic (she speaks amazing English) and picked us up at the bus station to take us to our apartment. The apartment itself was lovely, nice and clean and in an ideal location. Nice and quiet but only a 5 minute walk from the main street in Reykyavik where all the shops and nightlife were available. We would both thoroughly recommend these apartments.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked with Systa who owns Kalli's apartments and she offered us one of her new ones in a different building she has recently renovated. When we arrived the outside of the building was being painted but it was perfect inside and a really comfortable, quiet room with character - nice amount of space with kitchenette and little table, storage, mirrors and hooks in handy places, nice en-suite and a fabulous antique bed with very comfy mattress. Location was perfect - a 30 second walk to a corner shop selling basic groceries (ie bits for breakfast!) plus coffee. The centre of town was a 3 minute walk away to the edge of Tjornin. We've stayed in Reykjavik before at a hotel a trek from the centre but this was so much better being central, and worked out cheaper than hotels too. Systa was very friendly and it was nice to see some of her artwork too in the Nordic House! We are hoping to come back in the future to Iceland and we will definitely stay here again! Takk Systa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#12 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 2,159 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Miõborg
First Hotel Alda
First Hotel Alda
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Klettur
#23 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
Reykjavik Lights
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalli's Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalli's Apartments

Address: Storholt 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalli's apartments are located in a quiet street in the center of Reykjavik, only a few minutes walk from the Municipal Art Gallery, the main shopping street, the bus terminal and the National Theater. There are a number of restaurants, bars and supermarkets within walking distance. There is wireless Internet access. The apartments are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Kalli's Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalli's Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.