We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the lobster soup! A must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron

Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron
Geirsgata 8, 101, Reykjavik, Iceland
+354-553-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 322 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Try the lobster soup! A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent little fish restaurant in the old port of reykiavik. Excellent lobster soup and fish kebabs, try the whale one! Yummy!

Service is good and attentive.
Great value for money and great atmosphere! I wish I could go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    581
    466
    131
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Takoma Park, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't miss the lobster soup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Teeny tiny little place with the best lobster soup ever. And the skewers (we had salmon and shrimp) were delicious too. Great place to drop in after wandering around in the Reykjavik drizzle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The lobster soup is wonderful especially on a cool day as so many are in Iceland. The bread that comes with it is also fabulous. The kebabs are great but if I knew how filling the soup was I would not have ordered a kebab (although I enjoyed the two bits that I had of mine). The service is prompt and well ordered and very well located. A great place to go before or after your whale arching trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Still dreaming about the soup...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We knew just by looking at the packed tables and the line beginning to snake out of the door that we were onto something good. The lobster soup was hands down the BEST i have had in all of Iceland, and I had a lot to compare it to. We also had some skewers which were accompanied by a delectable sauce. Just be aware that they dont take reservations and the place is very informal. Most of the tables are meant to be shared and the restaurant can get a little cramped. We were unlucky in that we arrived at a really busy time so we had to wait about 40 mins for our food. BUT IT WAS SOOOOO WORTH IT!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

As everyone says, try the lobster soup - delightful flavour and contains a generous amount of meat. We also tried a scallop skewer and a shrimp one, which were tasty but nothing spectacular. This is a fun place to pop into for a quick bite, perched on barrels, squeezed in next to all the other tourists - but not really suitable for an evening meal.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.