We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster Soup is a Must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron

Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron
Geirsgata 8, 101, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354-553-1500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 290 restaurants in Reykjavik
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lobster Soup is a Must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you go to Reykjavik you have to have the lobster soup here at least once. Total hole in the wall place down on the harbour, with communal tables (you sit on old beer kegs with cushions). For $12 get the lobster soup and a Gull beer and you've got the best of Iceland in front of you. They provide lots of fresh sourdough bread to mop up your soup so it makes for a reasonably filling and very cheap meal. Soup was full of big lobster chunks and had great flavour. They put a lot of care into making their broth. You can also get fresh fish skewers, but they were expensive (around $18-$20 each) and although they looked good, we heard people saying they weren't great. So go for the soup, and then stop at the hot dog stand down the road like we did if you're still a bit hungry afterwards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    404
    321
    89
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BEST LOBSTER SOUP EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The history behind this restaurant is quite unique. It used to be quarters for fishermen that was converted into a restaurant in the late 90s. If you go you might see the owner roaming about - he used to be the chef of the fishermen quarter. If you go upstairs, you can see how the fishermen slept. Definitely try the lobster soup, especially soak the bread in it. The bread is all freshly made and you can see it being made in the oven. Everything else though wasn't really memorable so I wouldn't recommend getting the assorted meat and fish skewers - focus on the lobster soup!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stumbled on the Sea Baron after a long day touring the Golden Circle. We walked in and didn't have a clue what was going on but soon learned. You stand in line and once you get near the cooler where the skewers of fish are, a person asks what you would like and you tell her. We had a shrimp skewer, scallops, and vegetables. Then, you find a seat at one of many community tables where there are people from all over the world, including folks from Reykjavik! We asked for bread, which helped pass the time, and finally our food came. It is grilled simply, and the fish is so fresh, it tastes delicious. The "Sea Baron," who is a bit older than he was when his picture was taken, comes around with samples of other fish to taste. It is a fun busy place that is without pretension, and serves delicious food. Not to be missed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best ......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

You really haven't sampled the best of Reykjavik until you've given this place a shot.

Make your trip 'complete', eat at the Saegreifinn, you'll be talking about it for years.

As for the Lobster Soup ...... It IS the best, simple as that.

25th best place to east in Reyk ???? , Nooo.... It's simply the best ..... As Tina Turner would say.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best Meals in Iceland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We read about this restaurant in Frommers and judging from the line-up outside we figured that many people couldn't be wrong. The arrangement of the restaurant is weird. Our first visit we walked in and all the tables were filled, so we sat out on the covered "patio" where it was rather chilly. Everyone walking in or out slides open a plexiglass "door", so the traffic volume is high if you eat on the patio. We later learned that there is additional seating on the other side - you actually walk through the kitchen area past the cah register and there are additional tables as well as a 2nd floor. The staff won't tell you this.

You order from out of an open fridge. There are kebabs of different fish (halibut, cod, etc.) as well as whale (which I would never eat!) and potatoes. You order and pay, they give you a number, and then you wait. The waitress comes out with plates of food and calls your number. This was part of the entertainment as they seemed to get a lot of the orders wrong, or bring out the same one twice. But in the end they get it right and the food was awesome.

The lobster soup and fresh bread is a must. The kebabs are grilled and served with a lemon wedge, and there are various sauces in the fridge that you take to your table and then return (as others need to use them too!)

This was by far the most economical (a relative term in Iceland) and tastiest food we ate during our stay. There is no tipping in Iceland but we left one for these folks anyhow as they work hard. We went back twice, and we are pretty picky eaters, so I highly recommend. The owner, an elderly gentleman, hangs out and gave us a few postcrads of his restaurant. A must-do.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron also viewed

 

Been to Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saegreifinn - The Sea Baron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.