We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Reykjavik” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Butterfly Guesthouse
Save
You added Butterfly Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranargata 8a, Reykjavik, Iceland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great place to stay in Reykjavik”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My daughters and I stayed recently for four nights. The owners were very helpful in introducing us to our accomodations. The location could not be better, close to everything, but on a quiet street. We enjoyed talking with the other guests in the common kitchen and dining areas, hearing about other things to do and see together with their experiences and reccomendations. We had an apartment which included a kitchen and a private bath. There is free wifi and everything was spotless and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Can't think of why you would want to stay anywhere else. This place had everything we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Duncan, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at the Butterfly Guesthouse for 4 nights in May 2014. The location is excellent - just a short walk to the town centre. The rooms have wifi and were clean and comfortable. The communal kitchen worked out perfectly, and parking nearby was no problem. Jon and his wife are very friendly and helpful. We would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in May and found it to be a great experience. The community kitchen was wonderful, and fully stocked with milk, cheese, eggs, fruit, homemade breads, and cereals. The guesthouse is in a good location for walking about the downtown area of Reykjavik and has easy street parking if you choose to rent a car. The only complaint we have is that the one phone in the house was outside of our room door, and another guest was trying to check it at 11 p.m. one night and the continual phone ringing woke us up.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor apartment and enjoyed being above everyone else (no overhead noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

2 minutes from the town centre host jon is very helpful with info about where to start out, house itself is lovely and warm we had the top apartment - fantastic for coming and going as you please - 5 stars - were going back!

Room Tip: Room 8 the top apartment is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

butterfly guesthouse is located literally a stone's throw away from the main spot of reykjavik, old town harbor, and lake tjornin. it is on one of the side streets, so one shouldnt need to worry abt any noise problems from late night reveling on weekends. parking is also available right in front of guesthouse.

we had a nice room on the mid-floor, with a tiny bathroom the size of closet - but have to say they know how to make good use of the space within the bathroom because surprisingly, i dont feel claustrophobic using it. common bathrooms are available at every floor in the home however

common areas and guest rooms are kept spotlessly clean. breakfast is sparse (only cereals), but i see it as more of a self-catered kitchen, where you can get your own groceries and come back to cook it on the stove or oven and eat it at the very nicely decorated dining room

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Just back from a four night break in Iceland. Stayed at the Butterfly Guesthouse and was very impressed. Jon the owner, was very helpful and answered all our queries, both before we arrived and after we were there. House was comfortable and clean and breakfast was a help yourself to cereals. Tea and coffee available whenever you wished and if you did not want to pay to eat out, you could use the kitchen facilities to self cater, as long as you washed up afterwards! Excellent position, just a couple of minutes walk to the harbour and all the whale watching tours and 5 minutes walk into town to the main shops and restaurants. A quiet street away from the main roads.

Room Tip: 2 rooms on the ground floor and I believe 4 rooms on the second floor and an apartment at the top. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Butterfly for two nights at the end of January, 2014. We arranged everything by phone with Jon, the owner, who had to travel out of the city those days, and who of course speaks excellent English. We had the guesthouse to ourselves one night and shared it with another couple the next night, it being off-season. The kitchen is smallish but well-equipped, with well-organized shelf space for each room's food, and there's a big communal dining room with a terrace. Our room on the second floor was quite comfortable and clean. Shared bath at the end of the hall. It's very close (2 minute walk) to the downtown area of shops, bars, and the waterfront, etc., but on what was for us a quiet street. Can't answer for high season. It's decorated in a very quirky personal way which we found fun and charming.
I'd definitely recommend the Butterfly. Thanks Jon!

Room Tip: No advice... they all seemed similar and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Guesthouse

Address: Ranargata 8a, Reykjavik, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.