We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities, slight cock-up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Einholt Apartments to your Saves list
Einholt Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Frimley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities, slight cock-up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Overall, these apartments were really quiet, clean, well located (with good parking) and superb value for money. We stayed in these apartments (Einholt) for a total of 4 nights. When we arrived, we had been told that our keys would be waiting for us. There were indeed other keys for other guests, but none for us. We phoned the owner who informed us that due to a late booking (despite the fact that we had booked 4 months in advance), we had been moved to another apartment (Grettisgata). As it was closer to the centre of town, we were told that this was an "upgrade". However, it was most certainly a downgrade. The apartment was in an old converted house, which was very noisy both from inside and outside of the house. After very little sleep, we called the owner the next morning and asked to be moved back to Einholt. Fortunately, there was space and we spent the next 4 nights in a very pleasant environment. There was no direct contact with the staff but this was clear from the off.

Room Tip: Do not go to Grettisgata apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayownerIceland, General Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest. Thank you for your honest opinion of our apartments.
First of I would like to apologise for the fact that you were relocated and that you were not notified beforehand. This is something that we have had to do on occasion when we receive over bookings, however during the last few months we have changed many of our practises to prevent these from happening. This will hopefully be non existent come this summer.
We are sad to hear that you felt that Grettisgata was not to your standards, we are so proud of our little house in "Old Reykjavík" that is so close to all the buzz of the city centre but still in a quiet and comfortable street. But of course you had different expectations having booked Einholt which are more open and newer. I am glad that we were able to fit you back in to Einholt and that you were comfortable for the rest of your stay with us.
We will welcome you back anytime, best regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    89
    38
    16
    9
See reviews for
52
93
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The photos look beautiful and our room might have been but we were in the building across the street. At first I thought it was just ok, nothing special but as the stay went on I felt happier to be leaving. The good point is the location, very quick walk into the town centre and there is free parking too which is good. Currently there are apartments being built right across from it though so if you are thinking of staying in the next few months -don't. They started at about 7am, when you are on holiday this is not what you want. We never saw anyone to do with the accommodation which is what we expected but it was weird and although on the whole the place was nice ,things were a bit dirty or in need of being fixed. It just wasn't as good as we were hoping for and I think there are similar places for the same money which are far superior.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayownerIceland, General Manager at Einholt Apartments, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We value our guests opinions and always strive to do better. We are very happy that you were satisfied with the location of our apartments and the free parking we provide.
We do agree with you that the construction taking place close by is a bit of a nuisance, they should not start until 8 am however and I will speak to the construction workers about that. But this area is going to be even better because of it so while we are happy about that it bothers us that some of our guests find it a bit unpleasant.
If you found the apartment to be dirty, I would like to apologise for that, that is of course not acceptable and I will mention this to our housekeeping department for review.
Our "Home away from Home" concept is clearly working, we try to be ´hidden away´ so that guests can feel more flexible and free during their holiday, but if anything is needed we are always just a phone call away.
If you come back to Reykjavík in the future we would love to accommodate you again and prove to you that the works happening now, around us and within our apartments will have been worth it. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great location, main street is just around a corner, parking right in front of the building.
We've been in two apartments, both spacious and bright. Kitchen well equipped and a hair dryer in bathrooms.
I only had a problem with cleanliness - no bathroom or kitchen were very clean - sink, shower and washbasin were all covered with scale, somewhere even with black fungus. On the other side bed linen and towels were clean. Towels ere changed every two days.
Have been reading here some people here were bothered by the noise from the construction site across the street - in both apartments all bedrooms overlooked the inner courtyard, and we were leaving the apartment till 9,30 am so didn't even noticed that.
All in all a great place to stay when in Reykjavik, but if you have a you have a little higher standards of cleanliness, bring/buy something for a quick disinfection :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Do not stay here. Facilities were poor and badly maintained. Room not as description or picture. Dirty towels and sheets provided. Contacted staff by phone in the unstaffed reception to be told he was sleeping and didn't care. Would not touch again even if paid to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Spent 5 days at einholt as a celebration of my 50th birthday. Apartment was well equipped and exceptionally clean. The self service lobby works perfectly with telephone and internet access to book trips etc. wi-fi access in apartment was great, beds comfortable and we had a lovely time. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We booked this apartment because it was reasonably prices, from the reviews it looked a reasonable location and we wanted to have more freedom than staying in a hotel , we were a party of 4 adults. The apartment was across the road from the main block, it was clean . towels changed every other day, had coffee machine, kettle, toaster and a 2 ring hob. There was also tea, coffee, sugar and washing up liquid, We could have done with more pillows but as the phone to request anything was across the road and we had excursions booked we didn't bother so can,t comment on response to requests. There is a really good Thai restaurant within 5 minutes walk and it is not to far to the cathedral ,or the city centre and other restaurants. It was good value for money and I would certainly book here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The apartments are only about a 10 min walk to the centre so the location is perfect. We got the three bedroom apartment and it was MASSIVE. It was clean with modern furnishings and hard wood floors. The only problem is that there's no staff. You need a security code for the door then you go to the "check-in" area and find a set of keys with your name on it so you kind of feel a little bit on your own if something goes wrong - but lucky it didn't. The apartments were great as we were on a budget but I'm not sure if I'd stay again. I'd probably go at a time when we could all afford to stay in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Towel change every other day. Linen changed every 6th day. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik's biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland's largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Einholt Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.