We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bumpy Start to Our Trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Einholt Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Einholt Apartments to your Saves list
Einholt Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A Bumpy Start to Our Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

After booking the apartments online, I got an email from the owner/manager with instructions on how to check-in, door code, etc. I had a few questions re: luggage storage and day trip tours, which the owner was able to respond promptly, to my satisfaction, via email.

The first thing to know about Einholt, is that it's not a hotel. There is no staff presence in the lobby and you check yourself in. When you arrive, there are sets of room keys displayed at the front table with guest's names and room numbers on them. So imagine our shock when we arrived and didn't see our names attached to any keys! I was surprised, since we had communicated via email several times prior to our arrival. We used the phone in the check in area, to call someone who works there (there was a list of contacts), to let him know of the situation. The owner was out of town and sent an associate to meet us.

Basically the apartments were overbooked, and even though there was a record of my booking, there was no room at Einholt. We got relocated to another apartment on the next street Laugavegur, a short walk away. However, as it was March, it was cold and roads were snow covered, so we had a trek over with our luggage.

The new apartment was in a smaller apartment block on the 2nd level. We were "upgraded", as the original booking was only for a 1 bedroom and the new one had 2 bedrooms (for 4 people). It was a short walk on Laugavegur to get to the main part of town. Our frustration subsided when we saw how nicely furnished the apartment was and when the owner's associate was very helpful and cooperative.

Next time, I will book a hotel instead to avoid the hassle we went through here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    68
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
43
80
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Expected much more for price and reviews. One bedroom apartment: Wifi decent. Bathroom old and small with no window, shower curtain present (hate shower curtains) and flush button faulty. Double bed was two singles out together with a double sheet on top (annoying for couples). Sheets had some hair on them (not ours) ... Obviously their washing could improve. We stayed two nights and cleaners didn't come not the second day, without any warning they weren't coming. Stayed on first level which is essentially a basement - weird smells, one was a prominent fish smell which I recall someone else mentioning in a review. Reception unattended most of the time (there's a number to call). Not really walking distance from main street.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked to stay here in Novemeber and were upgraded to Laugabegur apartments which was around the corner. They both looked great. Was a great location and great apartment. Was within walking distance to the shops and bars. Will stAy again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at Einholt because we were keen to keep costs down by not eating out constantly, the kitchen area was well equipped with a microwave, hobs, kettle, toaster & coffee maker - not to mention the cupboards were handily stocked with tea bags, coffee, sugar & oil for cooking. although the staff are not 'on site' they were quick to resolve any issues, we emailed asking for extra pillows, then nipped out to the shop, by the time we returned (about 10 minutes later) the pillows were in our room. I'm not sure if it's because the rooms below us had their heating on full blast but even when we turned our radiators off our room was still really warm (although I found this in a lot of other places we visited around Rekyjavik), we found out too late that you're supposed to separate bottles from the rest of the rubbish (the notice was inside the cupboard, which we didn't find until we went to retrieve a new bin bag) - would've been better to put that sort of information in the booklet provided. There was also a tv in the room which had a few English speaking channels. The location of the apartments was great, we found we could walk to Harpa in around 10 minutes. It would've been nice if the apartment booklet had some more information about local shops etc (for stocking up the fridge), there was also supposed to be information in it about discounts with local bakeries etc but this was missing. Otherwise a great place to stay, so good we've booked it again for our trip next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you're looking for a cheap place within a short walking distance to the centre of Reykjavik, Einholt is a great choice. For most tours and airport transfers, pick up and drop off is right at the entrance which is super convenient. All rooms have a microwave, coffee/tea making facilities and cooking hobs. Rooms are cleaned and towels changed every other day. Interior is very clean, modern and minimalist. There's usually nobody at the reception but a member of staff can be easily contacted by the free phone at the desk.

Room Tip: When booking tell them you'd prefer not to be given the rooms in the basement. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Fantastic location. Pick up and drop off at the door. Clean and well equipped. Very informative when booking, great value for money, we stayed 4 nights, close to bars and resaurants. Would go back again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We returned from our stay in the einholt apartments last Thursday we stayed 5 nights. We booked the flybus from the airport very efficient service can be pre-booked online and it drops you right outside your hotel and picks you up when you want to return. We arrived at the apartment and we entered it by using the code for the door which is sent in your booking email, the reception is un-manned but your keys are ready there waiting for you when you come in. There is a free phone in the reception to phone for help if its required they where very helpful and usually came within half an hour. The room was on the ground floor and was very clean, warm and spacious the bathroom had a large shower which was always hot, there was a kitchen area which had plates and cutlery and had tea and coffee making facilities (tea and coffee included!) there was a very helpful information booklet in the apartment which told you info on where to eat in town and important local information. They cleaned the rooms regularly and the bedding was changed too as well as the towels where replaced. On the whole if you want a cheap hotel within a 10 min walk into the centre of Reykjavik this is the place and I would recommend it to anyone will be defiantly staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Einholt Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einholt Apartments

Address: Einholt 2, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Einholt Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Einholt Apartments. Einholt is a modern apartment hotel located in Reykjavik city center. Einholt Apartments is the perfect choice for the independent traveller wishing for the comfort of a hotel and the privacy of a home. Einholt is a modern designed apartment hotel offering 23 practical and comfortable fully equipped self-catering apartments from studio to three bedroom apartments. All apartments include a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bathroom. Interior is newly renovated from top to bottom. Towels and linen is provided. Towel change every other day. Linen changed every 6th day. Non-smoking apartments only. Flat screen TV. Free high-speed wireless internet connection in all apartments. Free laundry facilities. Free telephone and computer in the lobby. Plenty free parking spaces in front of hotel. Ideal for long or short stays. Einholt Apartments have 14 double studio apartments, 3 family studio apartments 4 one bedroom apartments, 4 two bedroom apartments, all with twin / double bed and 1 three bedroom apartment. In order to offer low prices lobby staff is almost none existent but any necessary information is conveniently located in the lobby. We use modern technology to check guests in and you can use the free telephone in the lobby to contact us at anytime. Free wireless internet in all rooms. Towel change every other day. Linen change every 6th day. Plenty of free parking spaces. We will send you email with very simply check in instructions after booking along with other useful information. Location/located near: Einholt is located in a quiet area just a few steps away from the busy shopping street Laugavegur. A 10-minute stroll down Laugavegur takes you to the lively part of down town with stores, restaurants, cafes and bars. The street then takes you to the heart of Reykjavik. Hlemmur, the bus main terminal is also within 50 meters away, where you can catch a bus to anywhere within Reykjavik.Also within walking distance you will find Laugardalur, Reykjavik´s biggest activity park offering a large swimming pool and hot tubs, Iceland’s largest fitness center and spa (World Class), the Botanical Garden of Reykjavik, the Family Park, the Domestic Animal Zoo and the indoor ice-skating ring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Einholt Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einholt Apartments Hotel
Einholt Hotel Reykjavík

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Einholt Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.