We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment style hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Luxury Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Embassy Luxury Apartments to your Saves list
Embassy Luxury Apartments
Gardastraeti 40, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 108 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great apartment style hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 70 (3 bedroom unit) during our 3 day/2 night visit to Reykjavik. There were a total of 5 of us and one toddler. The hotel was perfect for us. The rooms were spacious and very clean. There was a fully equipped kitchen which was very helpful for our friends who had the toddler. The only drawback was there was only 1 bathroom. The service was great. In-room free Wi-Fi was available but somewhat slow. The hotel was a short 5 minute walk to the heart of Reykjavik. We took a private taxi from the airport to the hotel upon our arrival, which was a big mistake. WHen booking, the hotel offers to arrange for a transfer service which in retrospect we should have done. The price of the hotel was very reasonable. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    37
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
76
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
durham
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed in Apartment 80. Absolutely spotless and well maintained by friendly, informative staff who were a good souce of info and advice about the city. We payed for the breakfast option which was a great decision allowing a relaxed start to our mornings there. Bread, cheese, meats, fruit, yogurts, milk and fresh coffee kept us going for most of the day.
The location on the apartment is unbeatable in a quiet, residential and diplomatic area and yet just a few minutes walk from the city lake, harbour,and the pedestrianised bar/restaurant/shopping streets. Literally around the corner is the superb Settlement Museum and the oldest street (Adalstraeti) in the city.
Local prices are high but I would also highly recommend Sea Baron Rest. in the fishing harbour area for great and reasonably priced kebabs of whale, scallops, salmon, cod, prawns etc and the house speciality of lobster soup. Iceland Horizons were excellent for the Golden Circle Tour. The best bar by far if you want to try Icelandic microbrews was the nearby Micro Bar in the City Centre Hotel. Top quality draught beers for under £3 a half litre during happy hour (4-7pm with 2 for 1 offers on Sat. nights).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 80 for two nights while sightseeing Reykjavik. I think it's the smallest apartment but suited my husband and I fine - bedroom with double bed, two poing chairs and small dining table, bathroom and well-equipped kitchen. It's also one of the cheaper apartments ~£70 per night. We didn't bother paying extra for breakfast, there are plenty cafes just a few minutes walk away. Just a 5 minute walk from downtown Reykjavik and views of the Hallgrimskirkja from the window.

Only minor issues we had were just after we arrived my husband put the kettle on and it blew the fuse cutting all the electricity. There's no fuse box in the apartment so we had to wait for someone to come round and fix it. However they were very prompt in responding to the situation. The other thing is that the blinds in the apartment still let a lot of light in so it was quite bright at night.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had a nice stay in apartment 110. It was large and very clean. The water smelled of sulphur, but I guess this is normal in Iceland. Daily visit from the maid while we were out. Well equipped kitchen, free wireless, big flat screen tv, central location, recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed for three nights late April and had 2x1 bed rooms plus the ground floor 3 bed apartment. We all used the ground floor flat as "gang hut central" as it had a bug lounge with a couple of settees, a big dining room table and big kitchen. Everything was just perfect. All neat, clean and orderly. Daily servicing was efficient and reliable. Quality of everything is well up to standard and its nice to have space so near the city centre. No more than a five minute walk to "beer central" but none of us heard any noise. And we were there Thurs-Sun. Just a note. If drinking until late, watch the police drink breath tests the next morning (particularly Sat and Sun morning). They are very keen on no alcohol on the breath those Icelandic folk. And quite right too. Give this place a look when booking in Reykjavik. I will be back there next time I am in town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed in Apartment 100 in the Embassy apartments for three nights in August 2012. The location is excellent – it is on a quiet residential street but is a only a couple of minutes walk to the main shopping and dining streets of Reykjavik. Check in was smooth – I rang the buzzer and was buzzed in to the lobby where I found an envelope with the apartment key. A short time later a nice lady called the apartment phone to see that I was able to get in and everything was in order, which it was. Parking is generally on street but there was one driveway space, which she said I could use. That was a great plus. On-street parking was readily available if I had to use it though it would have meant feeding a meter during office hours Monday to Saturday and free on Sunday.

The 1 bedroomed apartment was a good size (I’m guessing 500-600sq ft) with a separate kitchen, a combined living/dining room and a small bedroom. The place was very clean. I opted for breakfast to be provided at a cost of €19 and it was a great choice as the kitchen was stocked with bread, milk, orange juice, tea, coffee, yoghurt, eggs, fruit, cheese and jam when we arrived. There was a daily maid service to empty the rubbish and provide fresh towels.

The apartment scored bonus points when I asked for a later checkout (2.00pm instead of 12.00pm) and they said it was no problem. My only criticism is that we have two small children and instead of charging a flat rate for the apartment they charge on a per occupant basis. So we were asked to pay an extra €70 per child on top of the rental rate. The other hotels and an apartment that we stayed in Iceland allowed children under 6 to stay free of charge and a cot was provided free on request. I emailed them at the time of booking and they agreed to charge for only one child, but still I didn’t like this policy as it was at odds with what every other establishment does. All in it worked out to be quite expensive at about $275 / €200 a night but that is Iceland for you and overall I feel that we got good value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The apartment is warm, cleaned daily, full of natural light, spacious and comfortable, with lovely modern furniture, and all mod cons.
The bed is comfortable and the shower is great.
It really is as comfortable and convenient as being at home. The owners are accessible at all times, friendly and so easy to get along with. You can tell that they really want you to have the best experience possible.
And the location is great - far enough away from the noise of the nightlife, but so close to everything you need/want, including the nightlife! - restaurants, bars, post office, cinema, supermarkets, the concert hall, town hall, culture house, the pond, the domestic airport, public transport, shopping etc.
You will not be disappointed.
Just book it.
Now!
Before someone else does.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Luxury Apartments

Address: Gardastraeti 40, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Embassy Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.