We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Luxury Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Embassy Luxury Apartments
Gardastraeti 40, Reykjavik 101, Iceland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 104 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Essex, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Luxury Apartments for three nights from the 26th March. Tour buses pick up and drop off directly outside. It is a short walk to the harbour and town centre.

Check in was easy as others reviewers have said and as the apartment was vacant we were able to check in early straight from the airport. You just buzz the door entry and speak to reception staff based at the Castle House apartments and they open the door remotely. The key for your accommodation is in an envelope with your name on it. We received a phone call thirty minutes later to check everything was to our satisfaction.

We stayed in apartment 110 which has it’s own front door outside. It is a partially basement apartment. You go down a few steps to enter. Looking out the windows you are looking out a little above ground level. Heating was on 24 hours a day with ample hot water.

As you enter there is a spacious lobby area with lots of room to hang coats and any other items. Floors throughout are wood. There are books and leaflets on the table to help plan your stay.

From there you enter the spacious hall which all rooms lead off of. The bedroom is to your left. Again ample storage space. We found the beds comfortable and good quality sheets are used.

The bathroom has a small corner shower cubicle (which you may find restrictive if you are not elf size), a wash basin and toilet. A cabinet to store items, two wall mirrors and a retractable shaving mirror. Tissues, soap, shower gel, flannels and towels are all included.

There is another cupboard in the hall with iron and small ironing board inside.

The kitchen is a good size with everything you could ask for if you want to cook meals. A full size cooker, dishwasher, microwave, fridge-freezer, two kettles, toaster, coffee perculator, blender, mixer - the list goes on! All pans, crockery and cutlery are sparkling clean and arranged with precision in the cupboards. Dish cloth, tea towel, dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid are all provided. A good supply of tea bags, coffee, creamer and sugar are replenished daily. There is a large round table to eat at with an overhead retractable light.

The lounge has two large leather sofa’s and a single leather chair. I believe one of the sofa’s converts to a bed. A large coffee table is central and a smaller one between the two sofa’s. There is a cordless phone with it’s own telephone number. You can receive calls and make calls within Iceland free of charge. Other calls are chargeable. Wi-fi is also included and worked without any problems. There is a 42 inch flat screen television with DVD player and satellite system.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and the apartment was cleaned daily and items replenished.

For all this we payed £62.00 a night booked through www.hotel.com which we thought was excellent. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it.

http://4.is/apt110.htm
http://4.is/cf/embassy.htm

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    30
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
34
56
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We recently stayed in Apartment 90 for a week, which is an upstairs apartment.

Check-in was easy (as has been the case for most people, just a matter of buzzing through on the door and then collecting an envelope with the room keys inside).
The room was fine - pretty spacious and had all the facilities required, including a kettle, toaster, fridge, microwave etc. It's by no means 'luxury', but good by Icelandic standards. We had a problem with our television on arrival but this was sorted very quickly (within a couple of hours) by the hotel staff.
Our only slight gripe was that the doors to some of the rooms are quite a tight fit - meaning that the people downstairs seemed to slam theirs a lot, which could be annoying when they returned late at night.

Location is excellent - a quiet area about five minutes' walk to several restaurants, bars and the harbour area. The Icelandic fish and chip shop is an easy stroll, and a lot more reasonably priced than many other restaurants if you fancy a cheaper night out! Parking is plentiful on the street outside (pay and display) and doesn't cost much at all - free after 6pm and before 10am weekdays, after 4pm on a Saturday, and all day Sunday.

One tip: If you fancy a drink whilst you are in iceland, it's much less expensive to buy your wine etc. at the Duty Free shop on arrival at the airport rather than pay for it in a shop or restaurant.

Room Tip: Apartment 90 is on the top floor and is quite spacious. It has a balcony but it is only big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked, but didn't get any paperwork back at the time. Contacted them to confirm "Sunday to Thursday" which they did. Arrived and all going well, but came in from an excursion on Wednesday afternoon to find our bags packed and we were being thrown out! Managed to get another hotel room tagged onto the next part of the trip but all very distressing for the family.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingibergur T, Manager at Embassy Luxury Apartments, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
This gentleman made a reservation for three nights, Sunday till Wednesday. An automatic confirmation was sent out from the booking site as always. The 2 bedroom apt. was booked by another guest on the Wednesday.

The gentleman did not check out at noon and did not contact us. We waited as long as possible, called them on their mobile phone but they did not answer. Finally, since the other guest had already arrived and was waiting for the only 2 bedroom apartment, at 4 pm we started cleaning . They arrived half an hour later and insisted they had booked for another night. We printed out the reservation for them, they had not.

We offered them a one bedroom apartment for the night they needed but they decided to be offended instead and stormed off. We go out of our way to give very good service to all guests but we cannot accept responsibility for other peoples mistakes.

We should be happy to present documentation of the booking to TripAdvisor staff if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed in number 138 for 2 nights and could not have been more pleased. I expected that the apartment would be smaller than it looked in photos, but on the contrary, it has a huge living area and a very large main bedroom. The second bedroom has 2 single beds and is fine. The kitchen is small, but well equipped. The bathroom is also small, but perfectly adequate.
My only slight criticism is that we had been on the move for a week and would have liked to be able to do some washing, but alas, no washing machine.
The location is great; an easy walk to many Reykjavik attractions, including a fabulous meal at the Fish Market restaurant, just around the corner.
Our arrival arrangements worked very smoothly and it seemed that nothing is too much trouble for Freya.
This apartment deserves its high rating. in fact, I'm surprised it isn't higher.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived with transfers from the airport, and on arrival were amazed with the friendliness of the driver, and the wariness of the apartment.
Then after exploring the apartment, number 70, as it was huge, we settled in very easily, as we were so close to town, we walked for most tour excursions, and for dinner and drinks in and around Reykjavik.
Felt right at home whilst here, with just a easy email or phone call, all free, we were able to get any information in addition to what was at hand.

Thanks

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just like others, I booked this on the strength of its tripadvisor rating and was not disappointed. We were in the Embassy Apartments, number 80. It's small and the double-bed is just that: a double. But there's plenty of cupboard storage, comfy chairs, and having all the kitchen facilities you'd ever need (microwave, dishwasher, decent-sized fridge, even a whisk) is fabulous. Wifi is weak (best if you sit near the door) but adequate, and there's no lack of free wifi in Reykjavik so it's no big deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Situated downtown about 300m from the main square, Embassy Luxury Apartments were all they claimed to be in a great location.
For about £80 a night we had a large fully furnished lounge, bathroom (no bath though), hall and bedroom with at least a queen-size bed.
The kitchen had a microwave, oven and everything you could need including coffee, tea, sugar and creamer.
Also had a decent hairdryer, phone (local calls are free in Iceland) and radio alarm clock
The free Wi-Fi was very fast and it the apartment was cleaned each day - although we never saw the cleaners.
Highly recommended - just wish we had had more time to enjoy it as too much to do in Iceland.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Luxury Apartments

Address: Gardastraeti 40, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Embassy Luxury Apartments to your Saves list