We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish soup like no other” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market

Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
Adalstraeti 12, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 578 8877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $85
Cuisines: Sushi, Fusion, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fish soup like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The best fish soup I have ever eaten. We just popped in for a quick meal and a beer before trekking out to the wilderness of Iceland to see the northern lights, sadly we didn't have time to go back for a full meal. I have tried to authenticate their soup but fail every time, lovely atmosphere, great environment and super staff.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    889
    269
    78
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We went here on recommendation from family here in Iceland, and we were not disappointed! We ordered two sushi plates for lunch and it is safe to say that it was the freshest and most delicious fish we have ever had. The white chocolate cheese cake for dessert was also to die for.

The atmosphere is buzzing and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

The price is quite high, but that isn't uncommon here in Reykjavik.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely restaurant! Went to the restaurant on a recommendation from a fellow traveller and was not disappointed - the food was incredible and the service was wonderful. Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I went to the Fish Market with my family and what a fantastic meal we had. We all had the tasting menu and everything was very good, it´s so much fun to have all this variety of dishes and taste different things. Service was very good and the cocktails, excellent :) Will go back for sure, but be aware it´s not cheap.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A modern aesthetic and a modern culinary treat, the food and atmosphere are perfect for leisurely upscale meal in the heart of town

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.