We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market

Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
Adalstraeti 12, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 578 8877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $85
Cuisines: Sushi, Fusion, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We went here on recommendation from family here in Iceland, and we were not disappointed! We ordered two sushi plates for lunch and it is safe to say that it was the freshest and most delicious fish we have ever had. The white chocolate cheese cake for dessert was also to die for.

The atmosphere is buzzing and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

The price is quite high, but that isn't uncommon here in Reykjavik.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    269
    78
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strathroy, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Lovely restaurant! Went to the restaurant on a recommendation from a fellow traveller and was not disappointed - the food was incredible and the service was wonderful. Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I went to the Fish Market with my family and what a fantastic meal we had. We all had the tasting menu and everything was very good, it´s so much fun to have all this variety of dishes and taste different things. Service was very good and the cocktails, excellent :) Will go back for sure, but be aware it´s not cheap.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A modern aesthetic and a modern culinary treat, the food and atmosphere are perfect for leisurely upscale meal in the heart of town

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

First time visiting this restaurant and certainly won't be my last. We visited the Fish Market on our last day in Iceland and I had been really looking forward to this meal.

The service was friendly and professional, and all the staff were very informative about the menu, and were very happy to guide you through the choices.

The food looks and tastes amazing and I can definitely recommend the sushi, rock shrimp and monkfish. Portion sizes were perfect and left you with enough room to enjoy a fabulous dessert.

The whole meal was served at just the right pace and not once did we feel rushed or ignored.

This is one restaurant I will be booking up in advance for when I return to Iceland.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.