We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was delicious and the service was amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market

Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
Adalstraeti 12, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 578 8877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 320 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $85
Cuisines: Sushi, Fusion, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was delicious and the service was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Fiskmarkadurinn was a beatiful restaurant which was busy but didnt feel overcrowded.
The service we recieved was excellent, the food was tasty and beautifully presented (My GF loved the plates and the water jug!).
I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for quality seafood and a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    888
    269
    78
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good meal - center of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great menu, well prepared food, WE didnt have the sushi - it looked a little skimpy. We enjoyed the whale, lamb and the langoustines were fantastic.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Great restaurant, great staff.
Service was good, table water bottles being replaced before the one on table was even empty!!
My girlfriend and I had to taster menu which was 9000 krona each !!
OMG
Goose , salmon , mink whale, sushi , cod , tempura shrimp all to die for and the deserts were out this world !!
Big thumbs up.
Great place in a great city

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Ambience was very nice. Food and wine was paired up nicely. The staff was very attentive great for talking and enjoying company. No loud music.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Fresh Ingredients, artfully prepared, be adventurous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We ate here during our recent trip to Iceland. The restaurant came recommended by locals as well as guidebooks, TripAdvisor, and other trusted sources. The first thing you need to know is that reservations are suggested at any of the upper end establishments. Unlike other European countries, the restaurants are actually busy between 6-8. However, most of the establishments have lounges and you can sit there and have a drink while you wait for a table to open. Our host was quite accomodating and found an empty table rather quickly. It was a large table and we were informed (maybe jokingly) that we might have guests if they needed to seat someone. The menu was adventurous with many dishes incorporating a local flair and local ingredients. They had a delicious monkfish dish and I tried a blue ling dish (ling being a member of the cod family). Others in our group opted for land-based protein options (so there was something for everyone). The appetizers presented some interesting options, including Minke whale, which I had never tried (delicious). Others in the group tried the lobster soup which was also very good. Ubiquitous at most places is the hearty rye bread, served with fresh butter and one of the several varieties of flavored salt found in Reykjavik. The drink menu was broad enough for anyone to find something they like. The atmosphere was slightly off-beat and the décor was interesting. We had a great server who explained everything in fluent english. Overall we had a wonderful experience and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Fish Market to anyone who is visiting Reykjavik.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.