We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a lovely atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market

Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
Adalstraeti 12, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 578 8877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 323 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $15 - $85
Cuisines: Sushi, Scandinavian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food in a lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food is superb, We had the taster menu which I really advise.
Really tasty, beautifully presented and the right size portions.
Perfect

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    702
    241
    68
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BRidge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent New Year's Day dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The food was excellent and the ambiance supurb. The servers could have been more attentive. All in all a good experience and we would go back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fancy fusion restaurant that tastes a bit too asian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Fish Market and Grill Market are within 5min walk from each other and are managed by the same company. The Fish Market is fusion, and the chef studied in Japan, so it was not surprising that sushi was featured on the menu too.

We were a company of 5 and we tried the monkfish and the salted cod. Both were excellent, but the accompanying sauce was a little too Asian in our opinion. As we all live in Singapore/Malaysia, we picked out the taste right away. Apart from the type of fish, the cooking style or presentation wasn't terribly icelandic in our opinion.

The decor and service was excellent. However, the manager's service fell a little short when we were trying to pay by a card that was rejected.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We hadn't booked but tried for a table at 9pm on Saturday night (by the reviews thinking we had no chance!). There wasn't a table available until 10pm but we happily waited (went elsewhere for a drink) and were certainly not disappointed. We went with the tasting menu with the wine pairing and everything was absolutely delicious, in particular the salmon with parnsip puree and apple. We definitely have to commend our waiter, Alex, who was knowledgeable, friendly, and certainly added to the experience. This is a 'must visit' restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, mass.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Small city;BIG flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Reykjavik, Iceland is not particularly known for gourmet dining; but, an evening here might change all that ! The chef does a superb job with a basic piece of fish (fresher than you can imagine) and does magic with fresh herbs and spices, broths, vegetables and interesting ingredients that dance on your taste buds. Service is impeccable. The decor and atmosphere are creative. I would go back to Iceland merely to dine here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.