We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friend and I had the Tasting menu for 2!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market

Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market
Adalstraeti 12, Reykjavik, Iceland (Miõborg)
+354 578 8877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 321 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Price range: $15 - $85
Cuisines: Sushi, Scandinavian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Miõborg
Kittery, Maine
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Friend and I had the Tasting menu for 2!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Had 7 courses of fish and meat, one of bread, one with dessert, shared a bottle of wine. We arrived at 6:30 and enjoyed 3 hours of being served great fresh food with great presentation. Service was varied, some courses arrived too fast. Overall a wonderful experience in a nice old building, but $120 per person is more than I have ever spent for a meal. YES, I WOULD DO IT AGAIN!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    691
    241
    68
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fish for foodies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had such a wonderful experience with dinner our first night in Reykjavik that we went back two days later for lunch. As the name suggests, they serve fresh fish from local waters prepared with an Icelandic twist. For dinner, we started with a complimentary amuse bouche of salmon tartare. For apps, my wife chose the rock shrimp tempura and I had the Icelandic Langoustine tail served with lobster miso glace and coriander pesto. Then for mains, we both had marinated red fish with apple and apricot jam and foie gras butter sauce. The food was absolutely delicious. The place has a charming converted warehouse-type decor with a warm ambience. And our service was great. When we returned for lunch, we had sushi to start with, and then I had the lightly salted cod and monkfish -- another huge success. If going at night for dinner, make sure you get a reservation -- dozens of people were turned away on the Saturday evening when we were there. It's not cheap here (we paid $180 for two with wine), but we felt it was worth every penny and would gladly return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great setting, very fresh food (blueling one of the tastiest pieces of fish I have ever had), efficient service (though delivery varied - one waitress gave wonderful descriptions of each dish she served while others didn't say a thing). Suggest booking - I had a hard time getting a table at 6:30 on a Monday night. Reasonable prices for the city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - fantastic tasting menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Went to the Fish Market for a business dinner and the group was very impressed with the quality and taste of the food there. It was at times even difficult to move the discussions from the food to other matters!
The restaurant is in an old-style building in downtown Reykjavik and very nicely designed on the inside. Wood, stone and plants frame the dining area, which is warmly lit and comfortable.
We decided on the tasting menu for everyone, which is a food sharing experience. The dishes were many and plentiful, so sharing was no problem at all and everyone was very well satisfied by the time the desert platter arrived. The variety of textures and flavors we experienced was very good, as each dish brought a new experience to the table. Each dish was well thought out and well executed. The tasting menu here is a culinary journey I would highly recommend.
Service was good throughout the meal. Our primary server was excellent - providing honest advice and humor, while giving us plenty of space and time. The servers bringing the dishes were fine overall, but varied a bit in how fluently they presented the dishes. Still, the overall service was very good and fit the meal well.
I will definitely be going there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Definitely try the sushi! Each sushi option on the menu is Chef's choice and is fantastic. We also had the monk fish and salmon as entrees which were beautifully presented and so delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fiskmarkadurinn - The Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.