We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay in Reykjavik” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of the Spirits

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reykjavik
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of the Spirits
Save
You added House of the Spirits to your Saves list
Gardastraeti 8, Reykjavik IS-101, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 102 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good place to stay in Reykjavik”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

nice guesthouse in the centre of Reykjavik with a friendly and helpful host.
A part of the building has been renovated, one of the badrooms is quite old and basic, but there is a fantastic rain shower

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    31
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
64
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we stayed the first and last night of our trip and is was a good beginning and end :-)
We arrived in the night and that was not a problem for them.
The location is superb and very close to the city centre. Price/quality a good choice.
bakkery/supermarket is found at the first square to the centre if you don't choice the breakfast.
Some rooms are being renovated, it didn't disturbed us. We stayed 1 night in a very lovely studio and the other night, it was I guess the older version(witch was also very ok, but still the new one was nicer :-) )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

when we (my 2 friends) and me arrived in Iceland we spent the first 4 nights at the House of Spirits. We totally enjoyed our stay!
Our room was supercute, very clean and provided with cereals, milk, coffee, tea...

Gunnar is a lovely host and because we liked his guesthouse so much and we felt so "home" we came back at the end of our roundtrip in Iceland to spend 2 more nights there.

If we are ever coming back to Reykjavik, we will definitely stay at Gunnar's guesthouse again!
WE LOVED IT!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Although another member of our group made the reservation for our post-hiking stay in Reykjavik and can rave about Gunnar and his helpful service, I can rave about the lovely, light-filled top-floor apt. Close to the harbor and central Reykjavik, clean, comfortable and a balcony!

Room Tip: Ask for the top-floor studio at No. 17 Gardastraeti (down the street from blue and yellow houses).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It's not easy to get good value for your accommodation spend in Reykjavik. But House of the Spirits can do it for you. A top location, between the centre and the Old Harbour, but out of earshot of the revellers taking advantage of Reykjavik's endless summer nights (although it is under the flight path of Reykjavik's domestic airport), House of the Spirits offers comfort and a friendly welcome. In fact, Gunnar and Florent make you feel more like a guest in a cheerful home than a paying customer. The rooms are basic and well equipped, wireless internet is available, and you are less than a minute's walk from great coffee, bars and restaurants, a small supermarket, a bakery, an autobank, the tourist information centre, and the best design and gift shop in town (Kraum). House of the Spirits does not strive for high style, thereby avoiding the Ikea sameness of a lot of Iceland's guest accommodation. You will find basic provisions in the fridge and on the shelves, and they may well be fresh leftovers from recently departed guests. If you are happy with the slightly unconventional, and can put up with the occasional small plane flying over, you will be comfortable with House of the Spirits.

Room Tip: Renovations are in progress to create extra rooms upstairs (July 2012) but ask for the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Other reviews here have made reference to Gunnar, the owner of the House of Spirits being a fabulous host and they were not exaggerating. We visited Reykjavik from 20 to 22 July for a wedding and Gunnar greeted us around 18:30 on the day of our arrival and for the two nights we were there, we kept on bumping into each other and he was always very friendly and helpful, answering our questions and being a great host.

The House of Spirits in located extremely central to the city where everything happens - restaurants, bars, shopping etc. It is roughly a 2 minute walk down the hill to the nearest supermarket, which sells all your daily needs, such as bread, milk, eggs etc. However, our studio apartment on the ground floor of the yellow building was fully equipped when we arrived. The fridge contained fresh milk, cheese spreads and the kitchenette had muesli, coffee and teas which we were told to help ourselves to.

We needed an iron and a hairdryer, which Gunnar happily provided free of charge for our use. He even gave us an ironing board!

The room itself was adequate, with fresh towels, a flat screen tv and black out blinds (essential especially for July where there is 24 hour daylight!!). The price of our stay was fantastic and Gunnar even offered to drive us to the Flybus bus terminus when we left for the airport. Flybus requires you to call them to book a seat on their coach one hour before you need them and they will come and pick you up. Gunnar was not able to get hold of anyone as their phone was constantly engaged. He then drove us there, making sure we were not late to get to the airport. This is beyond his call of duty - what great service.

Gunnar and his assistant, Florent were both super great. We would definitely stay there again if we visit Iceland.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor by the front door was in a great location. We did not hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

A bit of a mixed picture here. Location is perfect, only minutes to walk to city center, and very little street noise for that. Gunnar (the host) is very nice and helpful, especially accommodating our 2 am arrival. On the negative side are the extremely small ensuite bathroom, the very narrow separate beds, and especially the noise from other guests (there were 2 more rooms next to ours with a kitchen, bathroom and hallway shared among them). It just seems to target fairly young, budget-oriented people (nothing wrong with that), and reminded us a bit of student housing. Also the fact that the room wasn't cleaned (at least beds made or new towels offered) during our 3 night stay was a little disappointing, but then again, it's not supposed to be a B&B I guess. So, I'd still recommend it in general, but maybe not if you're looking for something a little more upscale or if you usually stay in B&Bs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to House of the Spirits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of the Spirits

Address: Gardastraeti 8, Reykjavik IS-101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer elegant studio-apartments and bigger apartments for reasonable price in the centre of downtown Reykjavik. We also offer excursions with a private driver-guide, in a private vehicle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
House Of The Spirits Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of the Spirits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.